Blueberry Bramble

Stone cold baby

Stone cold baby

By Katherine

Great drink ideas can come from anywhere, even a dirty magazine that was supposed to be delivered to a man a street over who’s probably still upset he missed his July/August centerfolds. What was I supposed to walk it over after the mailman made the mistake? Well instead I spent some time playing the “Are those real?” game and reading up on America’s favorite bars. I can’t name any because Greg made me recycle the magazine. Anyway, one of the featured drinks was the Bramble, traditionally a blackberry, lemon juice and gin concoction. But at the time we were awash in blueberries. Kind of like the woman on page 72. (OK, not really, but if someone takes that photo I should get credit!)

Blueberry Bramble

  • 10-12 blueberries
  • 1 1/2 ounces gin
  • juice from half a lime
  • 3/4 ounce simple syrup
  • 1/4-1/2 ounce Chambord

Muddle the blueberries in the bottom of a tumbler. Pour in remaining ingredients and stir. Garnish with mint leaf if desired.

 

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Spirits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Blueberry Bramble

  1. nijah06 says:

    That drink is looking good even though I don’t drink I would drink that .Are you a bartender?
    Thank You for sharing your recipes.

  2. When in Rome, I suppose? LOL.. That drink sounds fabulous!!

  3. Brillaint – can’t believe they have “articles” in those magazines though…how funny!

  4. Holly says:

    I’ve always been a massive bramble fan – though I made a recent one with gin and a sloe gin mix to add… This looks lush!

  5. So…he only read it for the recipes? 🙂
    Nice twist on a classic!

  6. Kristy says:

    Ha! That is an awesome story. Will have me giggling today.

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Sounds like a great summer drink 😉

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    Oh dear, how embarrassing! But at least you got a great, refreshing cocktail out of it! Humidity broke last night and its a fantastic day! A/C off and windows wide open. Finally.

  9. cquek says:

    2 glasses please

  10. Well that is just awkward. I wouldn’t have given it back either. I can’t ever take that stuff seriously. The fakeness, the staged poses, it is too “Boogie Nights” for me. I see it as comic relief. Not what the producers were going for. Anyway, I love the cocktail. At least something positive came out of the mailman’s mistake.

  11. I think there would have been no gracious way to return that magazine to the rightful owner. I have never been a gin fan but I am willing to try this, substituting raspberries for blueberries as soon as we get a second batch on the bush.

  12. Rachel says:

    Minty fresh… and after um, reading the articles, perhaps refreshment was due! 😉 Anyway, this sounds dandy! Here it is all about melon… hmmmmm….

  13. nrhatch says:

    Your poor deprived neighbor. You should bring him a cocktail! 😉

  14. Refreshing spirit!

  15. laurasmess says:

    Great post Katherine! I am such a sucker for gin cocktails, I need to try this one!! It’s definitely not blueberry season over here though (we’re smack-bang in the middle of winter). Do you think that frozen blueberries would work? Thanks for the boozy inspiration!

  16. Bernice says:

    Nice – very nice!!

  17. Pingback: Pass (On) The Avocados, Please | Spirit Lights The Way

  18. Pingback: Berry, Berry Good Drinks Part One | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Pingback: Berry, Berry Good Drinks Part Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  20. Pingback: Red, White and Blue Cocktails | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  21. Pingback: Rufus Reruns: G is for Gin | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  22. Pingback: Summer Sips | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

