Smoked Salmon Potato Pancakes

Serve this with applesauce on the side

Serve this with applesauce on the side

These are a perfect main course for brunch, just top each with a fried egg before serving. Or serve alone topped with sour cream and chives. They can be made into any size, but 4″ rounds seems to work the best.

Potato Pancakes with Smoked Salmon and Capers

  • 1 cup smoked salmon chopped fine
  • 3 tbsp capers chopped roughly
  • 2 cups shredded potato
  • 1/4 cup shredded onion
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • Salt/pepper

Wrap potato and onion in a towel and squeeze out as much liquid as possible. Mix everything together in a large bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Oil a cast iron skillet and scoop out a spoonful of batter. Press it flat and fry over medium low heat until browned and done, flipping once. Continue with the rest of the batter and serve hot.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Smoked Salmon Potato Pancakes

  1. TasteFood says:

    I could eat these for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    I wonder if broiled teriyaki salmon would work as this sounds like a delicious dish. What is on top in the picture above?

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    These do look incredible for a brunch, love the idea of putting a poached egg on top. Kind of looks like Rösti potato the way you’ve browned the top so perfectly.

  4. Breakfast. I would eat these for breakfast…. 🙂

  5. Nicky says:

    Yum! This would be a great breakfast or brunch.

  6. Karen says:

    Greg, these look terrific…there is no telling how many of them my husband could eat.

  7. Caroline says:

    Heck ya, count me in!! These sound great.

  8. Purely.. Kay says:

    All I have to say is.. I’m hungry. Period. I’m hungry lol. I haven’t eaten lunch yet and I’m hungry because I want to eat this lol.

  9. Ooh, I love potato pancakes. These look very good!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Again, I don’t know where or how you come up with this variety of dishes but please don’t stop. This is a very good one.

  11. Cecile says:

    John – I was thinking the same thing – awesome recipes which such a wonderful variety !!!

  12. laurasmess says:

    Yum!!!! Greg, you legend. I love pretty much every ingredient in this recipe… I’ll be trying this recipe on the weekend (with applesauce!). Thanks

  13. billpeeler says:

    They look super awesome – what a great flavor combo!

  14. windykitchen says:

    Oh man this looks good. Smoked salmon is probably my favorite meat, and smoked salmon + carbs = perfection.

  15. Ian Bramlett says:

    Hello! This is Ian Bramlett of Pete’s Seafood Club and PAFCO and I was reaching out to you regarding a bloggers event we’ll be having at our Vernon, CA facilities October 8th at 11 a.m. to commemorate the launch of our online seafood program.

    These Salmon Pancakes seem right up my NPD chef’s ally. I’m going to have to get him to make the team some!

    I didn’t really gather where you are located, but I saw you have a penchant and passion for food; enough to get my tummy rumbling and finding inspiration from your recipes.

    If interested though, you and other esteemed members of the digital press are invited to tour our facilities, observe a demonstration of our production and packaging line and dine on a bountiful array of fresh and flavorful seafood.

    From ready to eat products like Shrimp Ceviche Salad and Ahi Poke Tuna to items where we’ve taken care of all the prep work like Lemon-Pepper Breaded Tilapia, Spinach and Feta Stuffed Salmon as well as Shrimp and Couscous Stuffed Swai, these are just examples of the products that will be on display and which we are able to ship affordably and reliably to patrons throughout the country.

    Should you have the time, ability and desire to participate, your presence would be greatly enjoyed.

    Thank you kindly and have a splendid day!

    Pacific American Fish Company, Inc.
    5525 South Santa Fe Avenue
    Vernon, CA 90058
    MAIN | 323.319.1515
    FAX | 323.319.1556
    DIRECT | 323.319.1515 ext 577
    EMAIL | iabram@pafco.net
    WEB | peteseafoodclub.com
    BLOG | http://www.peteseafoodclub.com/blog/

  16. These look outstanding! Latkes with salmon inside! What a great idea! I agree, the key is to get rid of any excess liquid. YUM. Best – Shanna

Leave a Reply

