Sunday Suppers: Cafeteria Style

Grab a tray. Load up your plate. It’s down home, cafeteria style eating today. You might want to pace yourself or loosen the belt.

Buttermilk Fried Chicken and Cheddar Jalapeno Cornbread

Cooking at a friend’s opens up new flatware vistas

Macaroni and Cheese

This version has mushrooms, but can be made without them too

Anna’s Turnip Greens

Lean, mean and …

Blueberry Cobbler

Overflowing tastiness

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dessert, Food, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Sunday Suppers: Cafeteria Style

  1. Alison says:

    These all look so good!

  2. Absolutely delicious looking…it’s making my mouth water! Funny, I was just telling my mom how much I loved the school cafeteria fried chicken when I was young. And all the old ladies loved it when I asked for seconds on vegetables. Ha! Good memories!

  3. oh yeah…they all look so good! Particularly the chicken! πŸ™‚

  4. rsmacaalay says:

    Your chicken looks so crunchy

  5. All delicious!
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  6. Are there any old-style cafeterias left, or have they all turned into all-you-can-eat buffets?

  7. Love it when you do posts like this one! πŸ˜€

  8. Misky says:

    Greg, the buttermilk chicken link goes to the blackberry cobbler. May I have some chicken, please?

  9. nrhatch says:

    Love it! Cornbread, greens, mac&cheese, cobbler . . . I would be a happy camper in that cafeteria.

  10. sallybr says:

    Ha, my husband would think he died and went to heaven with this meal, you managed to hit all his favorites in one sitting!

  11. billpeeler says:

    My mom just told me last night her cheddar jalapeno cornbread muffins won first place in a local fair back in North Carolina. Now, this morning I wake up to read about yours. Some way, some how, I think the universe is trying to tell me something.

  12. ceciliag says:

    You can’t eat all that, you will never walk again! I need to learn about cornbread though, i know i know I have said that before, but i really do.. c

  13. That chicken sure does look good. And so does the macaroni and cheese. I may have to fix all of these in one day. It will certainly be a glorious feast!

  14. Oh my goodness, I’m gaining weight just looking at these pictures! That is some mighty fine crust on that fried chicken…you should be proud and feeling very southern. πŸ™‚

  15. Ah, Southern cooking…how I miss it so…

  16. perfect Southern food. Just perfect.

  17. TasteFood says:

    Comfort all the way.

  18. It doesn’t get much better than Southern comfort food. I wish they had cafeterias serving that sort of thing up here in Toronto – we were stuck with breaded chicken burgers and shoestring fries.

  19. Kristy says:

    Mmmmm. I was drooling over that chicken until I saw the cobbler. I’ll just take all of those for dinner. πŸ™‚

  20. egg me on says:

    I want a giant plate of that mac and cheese. Topped with a piece of that fried chicken. With bits of that corn bread sprinkled on top.

  21. ChgoJohn says:

    Man, this is a great dinner! Those cobblers look fantastic, although I could have used those baking dishes.

  22. Carolyn Chan says:

    I want everything in this post on one plate ! You know I have never had mac and cheese – I think I will have to try it, it looks so comforting. Then again, all the food in this post looks comforting πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.