Irish Coffee Brownies

By Katherine

Two shots of whiskey is how I like all my desserts to start

One of my new coworkers quickly discovered I can say anything with a straight face. So when I told her the secret ingredient in these brownies was whiskey, she about died laughing. I wasn’t joking. Whiskey is serious business in our house.

Irish Coffee Brownies

  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 2-4 ounces dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 ounces Irish whiskey
  • 4 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp ground espresso beans

For icing

  • 4 ounces butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 ounce Irish Whiskey

Preheat oven to 325 and butter square brownie pan. Mix flour, spices, cocoa and salt in a large bowl. In a heavy saucepan, melt butter and unsweetened chocolate until smooth. DO NOT LICK THE SPOON. Remove from heat and whisk in eggs. Let cool for 5-10 minutes. Stir in dry ingredients, until just combined. Stir in chocolate chunks. Spread batter evenly in pan, smoothing to level. Bake for 30 minutes or a tester knife comes out clean. Mix ingredients for icing while brownies are cooling in pan. (Ice while still slightly warm, but not hot.) Cut and store in refrigerator between layers of wax paper. Serve cold or at room temperature with espresso, whiskey or whiskey-laced espresso.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Irish Coffee Brownies

  1. Lauren says:

    My father-in-law is an Irish whiskey devotee, and now I have the means to impress him with dessert — woo! Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Yuri says:

    Whoa! These are some mean adult brownies.

  3. JamieAnne says:

    Want!

    These look awesome!!!

  4. WSW says:

    Absolute genius.

  5. A_Boleyn says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous brownies. I have some Hiram Walker’s Club whiskey on hand but I doubt that’s as good as your Irish version. πŸ™‚

  6. That looks like THE most perfect brownie on earth…

  7. Damn! I licked the damn spoon, blech, so bitter! I had to down a shot of whiskey to get that taste out of my mouth!!!
    Looks absolutely decadent Katharine!

  8. Kas says:

    Agreed … perfect brownie!! Thanks for the do not lick the spoon warning — hard to resist!

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I know that iced brownies are a rarity but just look at that picture. All brownies deserve to be so nicely frosted. (And more than a few of ’em could use a belt or two of whiskey, too.)

  10. Carolyn Chan says:

    EXCELLENT – I was planning on making brownies this weekend for a party – thanks !!

  11. Joanne says:

    HAHAHA love the instructions not to lick the spoon. The brownies look amazing!

  12. Brownies just got better.

  13. secretmenu says:

    Looking at this made me gain five pounds. Five very happy pounds. Thank you?

  14. Purely.. Kay says:

    Did you just say brownies Katherine? You knew I was gonna come right over when I read about these brownies. They look so darn scrumptious. Yes.. I love this

  15. That brownie does look wonderful with that glorious, glossy chocolate icing.

  16. Erin Renee says:

    Oh my gosh…I wish I lived next door to you two!

  17. Tandy says:

    I like that secret ingredient a lot πŸ™‚

  18. jakesprinter says:

    Thank you for sharing your recipe ,love it πŸ™‚
    http://wp.me/p1Dwwo-y3

  19. BrainRants says:

    It’s in the brownies AND the icing!!! Total win!

  20. Amy says:

    Coffee and brownies. AMAZING idea. These are on my To-Make list, they are gorgeous!

  21. One chocolate dessert long ago, our daughter was bugging me to lick the spoon of the unsweetened chocolate I as preparing (she didn’t believe me that it was bitter) … let’s just say, she made a face you don’t normally see on someone eating chocolate. Experience is an excellent teacher.

  22. niasunset says:

    If you invite me to have a cup of coffee and delicisious brownies, I don’t say NO πŸ™‚ This is so beautiful dear Rufus, Thank you, have a nice day, with my love, nia

  23. niasunset says:

    Dear Katherine… πŸ™‚ If you invite me I can fly too!

  24. “DON’T LICK THE SPOON”….
    πŸ˜€

  25. egg me on says:

    Oooo, you guys made a boozy dessert! How unexpected. πŸ˜‰ Love the combo of whiskey, coffee and chocolate. AND you put whiskey in the frosting!!! Amazing.

  26. alex says:

    you have to lick the spoon, thats the point! I can’t believe you made brownies with whiskey, what an amazing combination!

  27. Kristy says:

    LOL! You and my sister would get along fabulously Katherine. She too can say anything with a straight face. πŸ™‚

  28. nrhatch says:

    This reminds me of a Bluegrass song . . . Whiskey for Breakfast!

    What? You don’t eat brownies for breakfast . . . what about cake? πŸ˜€

  29. That is a very helpful skill! And, the whiskey in the brownies? Great idea!

  30. Jessica says:

    As a partially Irish person who loves coffee, and brownies (and booze), I can whole-heartedly say yes, please.

  31. There is just something about a cup of coffee and a baked good that make the perfect pair to enjoy anytime of the day:)

  32. Fantastic recipe! that icing looks great too.

  33. Liz says:

    My hubby dislikes all minty desserts, so I’m delighted to find a recipe suitable for St. Patrick’s Day that he would love! These look marvelous!

  34. Sara says:

    We can’t lick the spoon? I assume that’s because it’s too hot–or would we eat it all and there not be enough to finish the recipe?

  35. billpeeler says:

    Whiskey brownies at a great idea – and looks amazing. Would love to try that —-

  36. Christina says:

    These look incredible!! Great minds think alike, I just made some Guinness brownies a few days ago! I love that the icing has whiskey in it too! Yummy! πŸ™‚

  37. Caroline says:

    These look so gooey and rich, Katherine! Unfortunately, I don’t have your skill of keeping a straight face. You could see right through anything I say…well, most likely because I can’t help but smile/laugh/give myself away. FAIL!

  38. Rachel says:

    I am not sure we could make them. Chuck always has to lick the spoon.

  39. koshercorvid says:

    Mr. Blackbird eats 100% chocolate bars, because he claims that the 88% ones are “way too sweet.” He would lick the spoon, and then drink the rest of the panful of chocolate. For me, I’ll wait until they’re proper brownies.

  40. Whiskey is a serious business in this household too, so I should be fine when making these.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  41. Yum. So what kind of Whiskey did you use in these?

  42. Mmmm whiskey! Although I wouldn’t dare to take anything alcohol related to work (even if it is cooked/baked out)- I’m paranoid, ha!

  43. Now you’re talkin’! Tagging these to make for a girls weekend trip coming up in April. I know my girlfriends would love them!

  44. Now these are my kind of brownies. My first thought about not licking the spoon was too hot, which I’ve done, burned my taste buds and couldn’t taste it after adding sugar! Good advice, regardless.

  45. Brownie with a kick. I love it.

  46. spicegirlfla says:

    These are my kind of brownies!! And I’ll have to quickly make them in time for the weekend!! Definitely love how rich and thick they look. These are not skimpy, dry looking brownies!!

  47. “Two shots of whiskey is how I like all my desserts to start”….yah I think I can get behind that as well Katherine. πŸ™‚

  48. Amy says:

    Whiskey in brownies sounds delightful πŸ™‚

  49. peasepudding says:

    This is more my kind of food for St Pats, chocolate and whisky.

  50. Hilarious.. I wasn’t sure if the whiskey was for before you got started on making the brownies or before you got to lick the spoon:)

  51. spree says:

    Oh boy oh wow! That’s an amazing looking brownie – and your serving suggestion is pretty brilliant! (You and your poker face are pretty awesome!)

  52. Whisy is indeed serious and these look seriously good!

  53. These sound so good. I would love them. Love cooking with whisky and love Irish coffee, too.

  54. ....RaeDi says:

    Boy… do not tell T about these brownies… they look delicious and what a lovely St Patty’s Day treat!

  55. My kids learnt the lesson of “don’t lick the spoon” the hard way lol

  56. Pingback: The Weekly Dish 03/18/2012 | Pippi's in the Kitchen Again

  57. Pingback: Chocolate brownies « My World – of Food Adventures

  58. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Irish Eyes are Smiling | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

