Beef and Irish Stout Pie

That shamrock isn't quite right, try to make it look better

This is a true pub meal. Serve with three shots of Powers Irish Whiskey before ordering plus six pints of Guinness while eating. Finish with a boiler maker for dessert.

Beef and Stout Pie

  • 2 medium red onions quartered and sliced as thinly as possible
  • 3 carrots chopped fine
  • 2 ribs celery chopped fine
  • 3 tbsp minced garlic
  • 10 mushrooms sliced
  • 2 16-ounce Pub Draught cans of Guinness or Murphy’s Stout
  • 2 1/2-3 lbs stew meat cubed
  • 2 Bay leaves
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 tbsp dried rosemary
  • 2 tbsp dried sage
  • Salt/pepper
  • 2 sheets pastry dough from the freezer section or pie crust

Season beef with salt, pepper, and sage. Let sit at least 30 minutes then mix in flour. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Melt two tablespoons butter in a large ovenproof stock pot. Saute onion until it begins to turn brown. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about two minutes. Add two more tablespoons butter and melt then add carrot, celery, mushroom, bay leaves and rosemary. Cook until mushrooms begin to brown, about 10 minutes. Add meat and brown stirring constantly. Pour in beer and bring to a boil. Cover and place in oven. Cook for 1 1/2 hours before stirring. Meanwhile make pie crust, or roll out pastry dough to fit a 9″ deep dish pie plate. Line bottom with dough and prick with a fork. Cook filling one hour more then remove from oven and reduce on stove top over high heat until thick, stirring constantly. Spoon into prepared pie dish smoothing out top. Lay second sheet dough on top and seal halves together. Create a decorative top or not, but bake pie in oven for 45 minutes or until done.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Beef and Irish Stout Pie

  1. My husband will love this!

  2. nrhatch says:

    I love that decoration . . . it looks like a PALM TREE! 😎

  3. eva626 says:

    i thought the shamrock was impressive…it looks great!

  4. Joanne says:

    Okay now, that just looks and sounds INCREDIBLE.

  5. Beef and beer pie! Perfect dinner at any time of the year! 🙂

  6. Ben says:

    This is a dish that makes me wish spring was not coming so early. I’m going to try it anyway.

  7. Now that is the ultimate St. Paddy’s Day feast!!

  8. Karista says:

    What a delish combination of flavors! Perfect way to celebrate any holiday 🙂

  9. Jessica says:

    Was this intentionally posted on Pi Day? 🙂

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    This must taste amazing and I can only imagine how thick and flavorful the sauce would be.

  11. rsmacaalay says:

    Getting ready for St Pat’s. I love that pie!

  12. Tandy says:

    A winter favourite 🙂

  13. Can I order a serve of pie with a wedge of your whiskey brownie and coffee on the side? Excellent, dinners sorted… oh how I wish!

  14. Fantastic pie with flavours that remind me of my life in England.

  15. Carolyn Chan says:

    Wowser that sounds awesome. I usually do mine without a pastry base because the one time I did it with the base it came out all soggy. Assuming yours doesn’t, what’s the trick ?

  16. niasunset says:

    So delicious… Thank you, with my love, nia

  17. Chef Scar says:

    This looks and sounds delicious! I would toss in a few kidneys as well. Of course 6 pints of “The Dark at the End of the Tunnel” would be the perfect accompaniment.

  18. Yum! Save me a piece I am just going to go pour myself a pint of my favorite ale and I will be right back! Happy St. Patty’s Day- Mate!

  19. It’s what’s inside that counts! Total Irish!

  20. Hope I can get an extra big piece please!
    🙂 Mandy

  21. zestybeandog says:

    What a great St. Patty’s Day Pie! Sounds so comforting and delicious!

  22. What a yummy hearty meal!

  23. billpeeler says:

    That crust looks awesome – and the recipe sounds hearty and delicious. Perfect with (a lot of) beer —–

  24. egg me on says:

    There’s beer and whiskey everywhere! Oh man, I’m dying to know what this pie looks like on inside. Sounds really great. With all of the beer and whiskey before / during / after this meal, you’d need something hearty like this to soak up all that booze. Well done!

  25. What a perfectly timed dinner, Greg; of course, I wouldn’t expect anything less from you and Katherine! Nice pie; weird looking shamrock 😉

  26. chefconnie says:

    Delish. Love the pie.

  27. Young Wifey says:

    I’d have to make chicken & stout pie! Looks & sounds delicious! 🙂

  28. Mad Dog says:

    Sounds great and there’s nothing wrong with the decoration 😉

  29. spicegirlfla says:

    Like a beef stew in a pie…great idea!! and your shamrock is just lovely!

  30. The drinks and pie sound like the perfect Friday night to me…wait who I am kidding I meant any night to me.

  31. Purely.. Kay says:

    This is definitely a great St. Patty’s day meal. And I can definitely see this meal as very filling. 🙂

  32. Courtney says:

    I’m thinking I would be feeling pretty darn good if I had all those tasty beverages with this pie. 🙂 And I like your version of the shamrock. It’s artistic, right?

  33. k.m. says:

    The pie looks beautiful! I have to ask: what is a boiler-maker?

  34. Caroline says:

    What a great lookin’ crust! Browned to perfection. Sounds delicioso.

  35. Kristy says:

    Try to make it look better…LOL! That cracked me up. This sounds like a great pub night meal. I don’t think we’ve ever eaten one of these. 🙂

  36. I will have to make this when I have a ton of beer laying around…maybe Sunday when I never want to drink again haha

  37. peasepudding says:

    The pie looks yummy, I really must make one for hubby, he is such a pie man.

  38. An impressive looking and great sounding pie…even with the non-rounded leaf shamrock! 🙂

  39. Fantastic – I´m really getting on board with this St Patrick´s Day celebration food!

  40. You have posted some great recipes for St. Patrick’s Day. I am making corned beef today for tomorrow. We would like this one, too.

  41. ....RaeDi says:

    It looks and sounds delicious!

  42. I just love the color of the crust..yum!

  43. Charles says:

    I love beef and ale/guinness/stout/beer/whatever kind of bitter pie. My father makes an excellent one, though alas I don’t live at home anymore so don’t get to try it. Did you serve it with boiled potatoes? I find they make an excellent side because you can smush them up and mop up the sauce with them 😀

  44. I am definitely going to make this. I was ready but we ended up going to friend for St. Patty’s Day dinner, but this looks and sounds like a winner.

  45. I missed this while I was away but oh my, looks delicious!

  46. Yum. I love a beef pie.

  47. Pingback: Cooking with Beer (now with 50 recipes!) « Worthy of Love

  48. Pingback: Cooking with Beer (now with 50 recipes!) « Something Savory

  49. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Irish Eyes are Smiling | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  50. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Irish Memories | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  51. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Luck of the Irish | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.