Deconstructed Potato Salad

So trendy I have to take off my tasseled jean jacket

We miss a lot of trends here at the Rufus Guide. You won’t see a single recipe for macarons. (Although we dig macaroons and Katherine managed to set the oven on fire once making those.) We only have one recipe for cupcakes and it’s actually Chef Pandita’s. Katherine iced a batch in the middle of summer and decided never again. That’s the PG version of what she said anyway. (Sweet Caroline could you just mail us some?)

You won’t find combinations of chocolate and bacon even though the chocolate French toast with candied bacon at our special occasion restaurant is to die for. There are no cake pops here. Two DINKs should not even look at a cake pop. Also, we don’t own Bento boxes. The food we put in jars is food that normally comes in jars. Pickled okra isn’t all that cute.

But here we go getting all trendy. Drumroll please. We deconstructed potato salad.

Deconstructed Potato Salad

  • 3 russet potatoes, skins on sliced thin (about 1/4 inch)
  • 2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup olive oil, plus 1 tbsp
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 4 anchovy fillets
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • salt/pepper to taste
  • 2 hard-boiled eggs, quartered (that means eight wedges)
  • 1 tbsp parsley

For dressing: In a small bowl, smash anchovies into a paste. Add mustard, quarter cup of oil, yogurt, lemon juice and salt and pepper to taste. Set aside. Wash potatoes and remove any eyes. Don’t skin. Slice and steam until tender, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and run under cold water. Drain off excess water (if a little remains that’s OK) and place in a large bowl. Toss with a tablespoon of oil and a tablespoon of the dressing. Use a slotted spoon to scoop out potatoes. A little dressing will remain in the bowl, that’s fine. On a plate, stack potatoes in eight even stacks. Divide dressing evenly on top of the potatoes, about a tablespoon each. Place an egg wedge on top and sprinkle with parsley and freshly cracked pepper. Serve warm or at room temperature.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Rants, Recipes, Sides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Deconstructed Potato Salad

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    So you’ve caved to trendiness. For shame. πŸ™‚

    I’d have to actually make/try a potato salad before I could hope to appreciate the elements of the deconstructed version so I’ll just have to admire the picture.

  2. Yuri - Chef Pandita says:

    Thanks for the mention πŸ™‚ this reminds me of a challenge we had in school, we had to deconstruct a classic dish and we chose ratatouille. So much fun! Love the presentation of your deconstructed potato salad.

  3. Carolyn Chan says:

    What an hilarious post ! And anything with potatoes is a winner in my books. Well done on the deconstruction of the humble potato salad !

  4. That looks freaking cool! πŸ™‚

  5. Why are my comments not working!

  6. Come on Greg, you know you two are trendy. Trendy with a capital T, just not in a cake poppy, tassled jean jacket kind a fashion, (although if you did do some cake pops, I wouldn’t stop reading as my one go at cake pops still needs a little work.)
    And nice looking potato salad πŸ™‚

  7. Oh, how tres nouveau of you.. πŸ˜‰ Can’t say I’ve ever made a cake pop, or foamed a soup, but I think I’d wolf down your salad in a most unladylike way.. πŸ˜‰

  8. These are great! πŸ™‚ I love how fancy they are! I guess it’s also a win-win for you and Katherine since she doesn’t like the mayo in potato salad!

    • Hello Greg and Katherine,I have been trying to comment on your blog for the past couple of weeks with no luck. The comment field is inactive 😦 the only way that worked is to reply to a comment “sorry Fati”.
      I have this problem with your blog and Cecilia’s. Will see what wordpress support have to say about this

      • That’s odd. I just rechecked my settings and all my upcoming posts allow comments and pings. And we don’t have a problem commenting on Cecilia’s either. Thanks for replying to Fati and telling us. We still see you on Facebook too.

  9. Raymund says:

    That’s a pretty looking potato salad, love how it’s deconstructed

  10. niasunset says:

    Beautiful and delicious… Thank you dear Rufus, have a nice week, with my love, nia

  11. Mel says:

    Trends or not, you are always well in style!

  12. BrainRants says:

    Looks really good. The sauce appears to be the key here.

  13. Tandy says:

    *claps hands in appreciation of a job well done* potatoes any which way work for me!

  14. Ha! There’s no time for fiddly food around here these days! If life ever returns to some semblence of normal, we *might* have friends over again…Aw, hells…I’ll just use your dressing and re-construct it! πŸ˜€

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    I’m with Marie. I’ll definitely be making your dressing (anchovies? oh yeah!) for some future batch of potato salad but I won’t be deconstructing anything anytime soon.

    • You might need to increase the dressing if you reconstruct it, not sure and I’d cut the potatoes in chunks too. This was a nice way to feel like we were eating something fancy and not just having regular old potato salad with our venison burgers.

  16. G-LO says:

    Could have gone for a couple of those beauties while seated at the bar and enjoying a few beers last night.

  17. zestybeandog says:

    Love this, what a fun and snazzy idea! πŸ™‚

  18. Kristy says:

    We’re so behind, we didn’t even know this was trendy. πŸ˜‰ Looks delicious though! And I’m with you…I’d rather have someone adept at making cupcakes just send me some.

  19. spicegirlfla says:

    How cute it that!! Looks like mini towers of pototo salad! I hear you on the trends; I leave that to the experts! I’ve never made whoopie either…that is whoopie pie!

  20. Had to look up DINKs. That’s how trendless I am. This deconstructed potatao salad looks incredible and very up-to-the-minute. Like I would know. πŸ˜‰

  21. TasteFood says:

    What a fun idea!

  22. What a brilliant post – am still chuckling about the tasseled jacket and just hoping that you havenΒ΄t got a “mullet” haircut πŸ˜‰ The deconstructed salad (which looks amazing) would make a perfect little tapas sized portion to go with a cold beer or an ice cold glass of wine!

  23. Caroline says:

    These are beyond fantastic. You guys definitely hit the mark on this trend. I’d be happy to send some cupcakes your way…I DON’T need an entire batch sitting at my apartment!!

  24. Oh I love this – trendy or not, it looks delicious! πŸ™‚ And you had me at anchovies.

  25. Eva Taylor says:

    I can totally see you in that trendy tasseled jean jacket, Greg. Sorry I missed that post about the oven fire, I went right over and commented. Happy Monday!

  26. spree says:

    I love the idea of this as an appetizer! Very cool. I’m a huge fan (I know many aren’t) of anchovies, so I think I’d have them in the dressing but like to drape one or curl one around that egg on top too. Great idea, very funny post!

  27. what a wholwsome mountain salad. Its a whole biteful..

  28. Purely.. Kay says:

    I can’t believe you actually attempted to deconstruct potato salad. And what an amazing creation you came up with. I love the traditional potato salad.. but I also love this as well πŸ™‚

  29. trends are just too much work! This looks amazing and so delicious though; good work!

  30. Who cares about trends? Your title instantly caught my eye, can’t go wrong with good old potato salad. But hang on, deconstructed IS trendy!

  31. Joanne says:

    This is such an awesome take on potato salad! Bravo.

  32. I can’t decide what’s more impressive, this fantastic deconstructed potato salad or the tasseled jean jacket….probably the salad!

  33. Heh, sometimes things are trendy for a reason – you can’t go wrong with potato salad!

  34. Ever so smart. Deconstructed deliciousness.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  35. Well done Rufus, for being bang on trend! Whatever next hey πŸ˜›

  36. lovelaughmirch says:

    I’ll have to try this! Potato Salad is amazing, constructed or deconstructed. πŸ™‚

  37. Love potato salad and this looks good. I am not a fan of anchovies though.

  38. I guess being away for over a week means I’m missing out on trends. Anyways I love the sound of deconstructing a potato salad. Brilliant I tell ya!

  39. Stef says:

    Well, well, look at you two gettin’ all fancy-dancy! πŸ˜‰ I think those would make a cool appetizer.

  40. This is why I love you guys! No trendy stuff going on in your kitchen! My style exactly. This is fun and I love potato salad. I can see I’ve missed quite a few delicious Rufus recipes having been away from the computer for some time now. I’m glad to be back and you were my first bookmark under “Favorite Food Blogs” on my new mini. Always a treat to come visit your blog!

  41. Pingback: Katherine’s Mustard Potato Salad | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  42. Pingback: Happy Memorial Day | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  43. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Summer Salad Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  44. Pingback: Graze: Raspberry & Coconut Muffin | Jay Leask

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.