Sauteed Zucchini with a twist

The butter helps as well

One of our favorite restaurants in town serves mixed vegetables with many of its entrees that are simply far more delicious than the run-of-the-mill mixed vegetables. There was a flavor we couldn’t quite place, so finally Katherine asked the waiter. The secret ingredient? Peach Schnapps. It lends the vegetables a bit of flavor and sweetness without being too sweet. Since we learned that trick, we’ve used Peach Schnapps whenever we have it in the house. It works particularly well with zucchini and summer squash. I picked these zucchini up at the farmers market.

Sauteed Zucchini with peach schnapps

  • 2 large zucchini or summer squash, sliced in roughly 1/2 inch slices
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 tbsp peach schnapps
  • salt/pepper to taste

Melt butter and heat olive oil over medium heat. Turn heat up to high and add vegetables browning on either side, without cooking completely through. Add schnapps and cook completely, another two minutes at most. Salt and pepper to taste.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Sauteed Zucchini with a twist

  1. JamieAnne says:

    Very interesting. Boozy squash!

  2. How very German of them (those German can down some schnapps!) I would have never thought to do this with it… can’t wait to try it out.

  3. Mary says:

    Wow, this I gotta try. I love saute’s zucs, I never thought to put schnapps in the mix.

  4. Korena says:

    What an unexpected secret ingredient!

  5. That’s interesting.

  6. God, you love a drink Greg. I’ve got some courgettes/zuchinni waiting for treatment but no peach schnapps. I do have some French “alcools blancs” such as Poire William so I shall try the substitution.

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    Interesting ingredient to add, peach schnapps. Might as well try this one, the only liquor that I used as an ingredients are gin, beer, apple cider, wine and rhum.

  8. It must have been like music to your ears when you and Katherine heard it was peach schnapps – good excuse to keep a bottle on hand – cocktails and sautéed veggies – cool!
    Have a happy day.
    🙂 Mandy

  9. rutheh says:

    Wondering if Peach Schnapps is available in the airline size container? Twist, is right.
    Never heard of this secret ingredient before and wonder who came up with the idea. Would not have occurred to me! Would try it though and see the reaction of diners,

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    I can see, kinda, how this would work but never in a million years would I have thought to do it nor could I have guessed it was in my food at a restaurant. I just never have thought of schnapps as an item to cook with. Once again, you’ve taught me something new. Thanks.

  11. Carolyn Chan says:

    Sounds like a delicious way to add some sweetness to the veggies – and a good way to include alcohol in your diet ! 🙂

  12. We love to have sauteed zucchini. It is basically a staple at our house. I wonder if this would work on the grill somehow?

  13. kitchenbelleicious says:

    What? I can’t believe it. That is definitely one of the most interesting ingredients I have heard to date for veggies. It sounds delish though and I can only imagine the perfect hint of sweetness it brings. Awesome- love learning something new!

  14. Karen says:

    A really unusual ingredient to add to vegetables.

  15. You are one of my favorite bloggers…your recipes always have a “twist”, are simple with not too many ingredients (which is one of my prerequisites for cooking anything for the most part) and lovely to look at. Great work.

  16. ceciliag says:

    fantastic, I have peppermint schnapps but i am sure that this would be WRONG. Once again to the grocery list. Thank you and kathryn for doing the research! c

  17. Mel says:

    Mmmm, sounds like a novel idea! I also read about the use of pineapple juice in soup in one of Ruth Reichl’s books lately. Oh magic drops.

  18. Kelly says:

    I had to smile when I discovered the twist was Peach Schnapps – you’re too fun! I love when an ingredient brings a whole new taste sensation to a familiar food.

  19. Sissi says:

    Greg, you have just found for me a new way to use my peach gin or vodka (I have made both this year)! I often have grilled vegetables with my hot fruit sauces so why not with fruit liquor? Thanks for the wonderful idea!

  20. spicegirlfla says:

    I have to try this tonight!! I’m so surprised yet I can see how this would flavor the veggies just right. I’ll pour a shot for myself and one for the veggies!!

  21. Such a simple but tasty recipe! I believe a trip to the farmer’s market and liquor store are in order!

  22. What a neat trick! Excited to try it out.

  23. Wow. Never would have thought of that in a million years…
    Do you suppose someone was drinking in the kitchen one night, had a spill, and said,”Hey! Thass pretty good!” ? 😉

  24. Laura Parisi says:

    Huh! That sure is a twist. I can’t even imagine how those flavors work together. I may have to go buy some schnapps just so I can taste it for myself.

  25. Judy says:

    Well, who’d a thunk it?! My curiosity is piqued for sure.

  26. nrhatch says:

    Sounds (and looks) terrific!

  27. Kristy says:

    Another great trick for getting me to eat more vegetables. I’m definitely going to give this a try the next time we have peach schnapps lying around. In the meantime, I’m going to make your chicken and figs recipe tonight! 🙂

  28. What a great idea! This sounds tasty.

  29. ambrosiana says:

    OMG. I would never ever though about adding peach schnapps to zucchini!! This is quite interesting!!

  30. 100% intrigued by using peach schnapps…guess I’m going to have head out and get me a bottle!

  31. Charles says:

    When I read the title I thought you were going to be “har har, zucchini with a twist… of … LEMON!” I must say I’m very surprised to see it with peach schnapps. What a curious combination. Definitely sounds like something I’d like to try – I always like it when you try something completely different and it’s like “wow, this works really well”.

  32. Jenny liu says:

    Very interesting idea to make zucchini! love this recipe!

  33. Caroline says:

    Who woulda thunk peach schnapps would be so good with zucchini? I believe it! Sounds delicious. But then again, I never say no to cooking and baking with alcohol. 🙂

  34. Eva Taylor says:

    Peach schnapps? How unique. I’ve roasted vegetables with balsamic with great success, but to sauté with schnapps sounds fantastic! Thanks Greg.

  35. Joanne says:

    Peach schnapps?!?!! That’s so wild!!! Definitely picking some up the next time I’m at the liqueur store.

  36. The Swedish Chef says:

    This is such a cool tip! And something I’d never imagine working the way you describe. I’m excited to give it a shot.

  37. Jill H says:

    Okay, I just LOVE this twist. I have plenty of zucchini and plenty of schnapps. A lovely marriage. Can’t wait to try this…..

  38. Get out of town! Peach schnapps eh?

  39. Christina says:

    Peach Schnapps?! Hello!! I actually have all the ingredients to make this..I wish i would have seen this before dinner! I need to give it a try! 🙂

  40. niasunset says:

    Peach Schnapps… This is interesting, but sounds it would be so delicious, I want to try it too. Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  41. Oh I just LOVE Zucchini! But I would’ve never paired it with peach schnapps.. very interesting. You definitely added a flair to an old favorite of mine.

  42. How unusual – wonder how on earth they came up with that? Lucky that they did though!

  43. I thought you’d be reaching to the sherry! You’ll be proud to know I now own a bottle of sherry for my vegie cooking, inspired by yours truly. These look yum, butter helps everything!

  44. I had so much zucchini this year and my yellow squash did not do anything. I don’t know what happened. This looks good.

  45. I thought the secret ingredient was going to be limoncello! Onions would be yummy in there, too.

  46. karencooking says:

    I’m planning to saute some squash tomorrow night . . . I may have to try the peach schnapps. Sounds intriguing!

  47. ....RaeDi says:

    WOW! What an unexpected add, who would have thought! We were just given a bag full of garden delights of which there are several of the different squash and we have some of the unexpected add in the liquor cabinet! Thanks….RaeDi

  48. hmm..intriguing. Perhaps I’d better get some peach schnapps in!

  49. spiderpaw says:

    I made this with some grilled steak for Sheila and I. It was so good, this was the only thing she ate.

  50. Pingback: Tortilla Pizza | Sprint 2 the Table

  51. SimpleP says:

    Can never have too many zucchini recipes.

  52. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: All about the Glaze | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  53. I agree. Can never have too many zucchini or summer squash recipes. This is a keeper…my husband’s two favorite things in summer are summer squash and peaches.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.