In Our Kitchen: Rain Delays

Fairly good harvest

Fairly good harvest

Everything has been way behind schedule due to all the rain. Normally we would have already made the pickles and strawberry jam for the next year, but at this point the garlic scapes have just arrived and the arugula is finally done. With the garlic still in the garden, I have had to get creative with where I planted the okra and butternut squash so who knows if they will survive to grow fruit. Speaking of harvesting arugula I wonder what to do with all of it.

Hmmmm where is the cheese

Hmmmm where is the cheese

Since the basil is going great and I still have some garlic left from last year it is time to make the next years supply of pesto. But first it is important to have a healthy breakfast.

There are a few different kinds of protein there

There are a few different kinds of protein there

and finish with some fruit.

There is fruit in there

There is fruit in there

For those who are wondering how much pesto came out of a crop of basil and arugula the answer is…

33 tbsp

33 tbsp

To get a peek inside other bloggers’ kitchens hop on over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for her monthly roundup.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Garden, How to, Italian, Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to In Our Kitchen: Rain Delays

  1. I love pesto anything and looks like you had a good crop and can’t wait to see what with it you do!
    Thanks also for this month’s IMK view!

  2. A dollop of your homemade pesto on your yummy looking breakfast plate would be perfect right now… and it’ 7pm here. 🙂

  3. chef mimi says:

    We live in the Midwestern US and we’ve had so much rain by basil is still 4″ tall, the tomatoes are green, and the strawberries are water-logged. oh well. Great post!

  4. Angeline M says:

    Ha! Rub it in about the rain, everyone. The crops here in California are going to have a rough summer.

  5. You know, until I started reading IMK, I’d never even heard of garlic scrapes, so my world has expanded. And talk about a festive pudding!

    Always interesting to see what’s happening. xxx

  6. lizzygoodthings says:

    Wow, you really did get a good crop of basil… lovely!

  7. Moya says:

    What a wonderful crop of Basil… lucky you. We could do with a bit of rain in our very hot climate 🙂

  8. Kristy says:

    Fantastic basil! How do you get yours to flourish? That’s the one herb I can’t get to thrive. The oregano, thyme and sage grow like crazy and the poor basil just dies.

  9. Kirsty says:

    Its called arugula in the US and rocket here in Australia, I wonder why that is?
    What a lovely haul, and some fine looking pesto, cheers Kirsty

  10. I’m a huge pesto fan, thanks for the tip on putting it in serving sizes in the snap lock bags – great idea!

  11. Eva Taylor says:

    My basil isn’t quite as hearty just yet, mind you I just planted them in early May (I cheat and use store-bought plants). I freeze my pesto in ice cube trays and then pop them out into freezer bags!

  12. Kim Bultman says:

    Greg & Katherine, I hope you’re enjoying sunny-er weather now. Our rainfall came in ridiculous amounts, too. Looks like you’ve adapted to it all, and your pesto stash is fabulous!

  13. A freezer full of pesto! We always have a bumper crop of basil too, but we’ve given up on growing rocket (arugula) – it’s too backbreaking to harvest! 🙂 (I know, we’re old)

Leave a Reply

