In Our Kitchen: Christmas Parties and Presents

It mixes just fine

It mixes just fine

Like many of you the last month was filled with a lot of parties, baking and drinking. Although here that is every month.

Above was a fairly decent tequila brought by a party goer that disappeared into a lot of fresh grapefruit juice. I have no idea of the cost, but for us free means never having to say you are thirsty.

Can't wait to blend a potato soup

Can’t wait to blend a potato soup

I got an immersion blender for Christmas and am really excited to make a cream of potato soup. I had been holding out for a while using a hand masher since, as everyone should know, blending potatoes is a bad idea. I also found it hard to justify owning another blender that is really only for soup. I know you can use it for other stuff, but a normal blender or mixer can do that stuff just fine. But a new kitchen means more cabinet space to fill right?

Handcrafted

Handcrafted

It was time for a new pepper mill since the old one couldn’t really grind anymore. Katherine got these walnut grinders from a woodworker and they are pretty nice.

I leave you with a before the party starts photo, I was too sated to remember an after shot.

Ready to be attacked

Ready to be attacked

To get a peek inside other bloggers’ kitchens hop on over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for her monthly roundup.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to In Our Kitchen: Christmas Parties and Presents

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    No one turns their nose up at free booze. I have a hand blender, a regular blender and a food processor. Each one has its uses. My reaction to your new hand blender … ooh shiny!!!

  2. niasunset says:

    Happy New Year dear Rufus and dear Katherine, Love, nia

  3. What a handsome immersion blender. It must be the George Clooney model 🙂

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Looks like a fun kitchen this month! I can’t drink tequila anymore… Too many sick mornings at UNI 🙂 thanks for sharing! Liz xx

  5. Your kitchen counter looks a lot like my new quartz counter. Well, not exactly new, it’s been 8 years since our remodel. LOVE it! One of the best decisions I made. I posted my first ever In My Kitchen yesterday and am having fun visiting all the participants.

  6. Happy New Year and have a great year of blogging. Your friend in Nashville.

  7. TasteFood says:

    Happy new year!

  8. sallybr says:

    Happy New Year! Looking forward to your posts in 2015….

    love the immersion blender, mine is looking pretty aged by comparison, maybe I can get another one at Christmas… WHAAAT? It’s over? Oh, that hurts…

  9. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    Alcohol as a gift is always wonderful to receive! I do enjoy my I. Erosion blender, so many uses. Happy New Year!

  10. lizzygoodthings says:

    Well hello there and happy new year! You had me at tequila! Thanks for the peek into your kitchen
    : )

  11. Kirsty says:

    Get the party started! Your kitchen sounds like a rockin’ place to hang out : ) Cute chicken peeking behind the Tequila, cheers Kirsty xx

  12. ‘Free means never having to say your thirsty.’ Oh how I love that! I have an old immersion blender – over 20 years and still going. I’m getting a new kitchen this year so maybe a new blender is called for? I can hardly say I haven’t got my money’s worth! Thanks for the spirited tour. Cheers Fiona

  13. Misky says:

    Love hand blenders. Best gadget ever. Happy new year to you both!

  14. Cecile says:

    A fun post! Happy New Year !

  15. Immersion blender, food processor, and blender…they all have their own particular advantages and disadvantages. All of mine are fairly old, having been purchased when the technologies were young. But, they all still work and are valuable. Your immersion blender is particularly handsome.

    Happy New Year.

  16. Love your kitchen, and the thought that you guys have spent the entire last month every so slightly tipsy. 🙂 We only get a few brands of tequila out here, so we never know which one to choose. I finally found one which was quite nice with a picture of a skeleton riding a rooster on the label – how could I have gone wrong with that? 🙂 Have fun with your new immersion blender – we use ours all the time, so I reckon they’re a good buy. They make the easiest instant mayonnaise (there’s a recipe on my blog if you’re interested!). Have a great 2015! 🙂

  17. i like the look of your pepper mills. very cute. i bought a new stick blender recently too as my old one (very old) decided to kick the bucket. i am not sure yet if i like the new one!

Leave a Reply

