Grilled Whole Fish Stuffed with Citrus and Olives

Here fishy fishy fishy

Here fishy fishy fishy

This used red fish but any firm fleshed white fish will work. Make sure it is very fresh. The fish can be prepared up to two hours ahead of time and refrigerated, just let it come back to room temperature before cooking. Plan on at least 1/2 lb of fish per person.

Whole Fish Stuffed with Citrus and Olives

  • 2-3 lb whole red fish
  • 1 lemon
  • 6 large green olives pitted and sliced into thin rings
  • 2 tbsp salted capers
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh thyme
  • olive oil
  • Salt/pepper

Place garlic on a sheet of foil and drizzle with olive oil. Fold foil pack into a bundle and roast in oven at 375 degrees until garlic is soft and golden, about 20 minutes. Wash fish well and pat dry. Cut a series of slices at an angle into fish body down to the bone on each side. Season the outside and inside the cavity with salt and pepper. Slice half the lemon into paper thin slices. Mash garlic and oil into a paste. Add capers and juice of 1/2 lemon and mix well. Add olives and thyme and season with more olive oil, salt and pepper. Place 1-2 slices of lemon into each slit in fish. Place remaining slices inside cavity. Stuff olive mixture inside fish cavity. Coat fish in oil and let sit for at least 30 minutes. Prepare grill. Place a sheet of tin foil over grill grate and cut slits in it. Grill fish until cooked through over indirect heat, about 30 minutes. Scoop out stuffing and serve fish whole with stuffing on top or slice into serving pieces and top with olive mixture.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Grilled Whole Fish Stuffed with Citrus and Olives

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I love grilled whole fish but have only ever had them in restaurants. I’d like to try this dish when the weather becomes warm enough to grill outside again.

  2. Erin Renee says:

    This brings back memories of my time in Vietnam! 🙂

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    This really does look fantastic, Greg. It’ll take a while before I get the courage to grill whole fish but you sure do make it tempting.

  4. I thought I had an email for you? Wrong. please send – have some fish (in photos!!!!) for you, lol.

  5. Nice idea, Greg, and looking good. I wonder what the equivalent of “red” fish is over here – mullet?

  6. Perfect, exactly how we like it…yours looks fantastic.

  7. sallybr says:

    We don’t do whole fish on the grill that often, but have made some trout in the past, the presentation is so beautiful this way!

    you are right, gotta be the freshest possible fish… yours sure was delicious!

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    We paired monkfish with green olives in Lyon during our cooking class, it was a combo that really worked!

  9. A Table in the Sun says:

    Just the type of simple and fresh food that I love. Now….if I could only find a whole fish in my market….

  10. I love whole fish and the idea of making and serving it…but i had a bone stuck on my throat once…and have stuck to boneless filets ever since

  11. egg me on says:

    We’re gonna need a bigger boat! That’s some fish. Great stuff, man.

  12. Wow, Greg, that looks beautiful…and includes several of my favorite flavors….mmmmmmmmm

  13. Mad Dog says:

    You can’t go wrong like that 😉

  14. It’s been awhile since I’ve made a whole fish. This looks delicious!

  15. Today on a photo shoot I was working on I styled a stuffed trout…with oranges & cilantro, olive oil, salt & pepper and it was beautiful and delicious so I am so happy to see your recipe and photo…it must be the day for stuffed fish. Very nice recipe you have shared.

  16. Loving the flavours, will have to research which red fish I can get here. Bookmarked for future cooking 🙂

  17. Love the Mediterranean flavors in your fish. A real nice break from my usual Cantonese steamed fish. All of my comments seems to be going into to everyone’s spam box. Can you take a look and let me know if you are getting my comments. Thanks, BAM

  18. Carolyn Chan says:

    The best way to serve really fresh fish – served so simply !

  19. Purely.. Kay says:

    If I could have this for dinner right now, I’d be the happiest person ever! Scrumptious

  20. Bill Peeler says:

    Grilling a whole fish has always intimidated me – but I’d love to try it!

  21. petit4chocolatier says:

    Looks gorgeous!

  22. rsmacaalay says:

    Nice one, I love grilled fish and we nearly do it the same by stuffing something inside. We usually put tomatoes and onions

  23. Rebecca Orchant says:

    Hi there!

    My name is Rebecca and I’m one of the Editors at HuffPost Taste. I’m working on a roundup of some of our favorite whole fish recipes, and would love to feature a photo from this lovely post, pending your permission. We’ll link back to your original post for the recipe.

    Would you mind just letting me know whether you’d like us to credit the photo to your name or your blog’s name? Thanks very much!

  24. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: More Goodies from the Grill | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.