Gazpacho

Every time I get store-bought bread it disappoints

I heard gazpacho referred to as a finely chopped vegetable salad and I have to agree. I have seen many recipes that use a food processor or blender, but, to me, the best results always come from chopping everything by hand. Of course really ripe tomatoes and fresh vegetables also are imperative for success.

When it comes to gazpacho, everyone likes to add different ingredients and spices. The recipe below is a basic starting point. I like to add a tablespoon of olive oil to each serving, but other people have used fresh lime juice, sherry, vinegar and liquors to finish the dish. If a spicy soup is desired, double the jalapeno and add a dash of cayenne pepper sauce. I chop extra vegetables so they can be used as garnish for those who want.

Almost small enough, but hey some chunks are good

Gazpacho

  • 10-14 medium tomatoes skinned, seeded and minced
  • 2-3 cloves garlic minced
  • 1/2 red onion minced
  • 1 jalapeno diced fine
  • 1/2 cucumber chopped fine
  • 1/2 green pepper chopped fine
  • 2 tbsp basil cut into small thin ribbons
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 lime
  • Salt/pepper
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • ice cubes

Add everything, but the oil and ice to a large bowl. Mix well and season according to taste. Refrigerate soup for four hours to allow flavor to mix and improve. If the soup is too thick add some water. Serve in bowls drizzled with oil and 4-5 ice cubes each. Extra chopped vegetables can be reserved for people to add as garnish on top of the soup as well.

Links and notes: I know that some of you will balk at the absence of vinegar. We tried it both ways and liked it better without it. For those of you who don’t want to do all the chopping, check out this blended version over at Chica Andaluza. She also has a broad bean version and one that “originates from the beautiful city of Córdoba.”

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Gazpacho

  1. rutheh says:

    Enjoyed the photo of the finely chopped ingredients.

  2. JamieAnne says:

    Looks great Greg! Nice dicing job too!

  3. nrhatch says:

    I’m sure blended would work for me . . . but I love the effort you took with those veggies. Beautiful texture and garnish.

  4. I agree on the no vinegar! I wonder if you could do flavored ice cubes… maybe with a pesto? Looks amazing!

  5. Charles says:

    So funny you should make this now – I went to some spanish friends for dinner on the weekend and had an incredible gazpacho and paella, although I have to say I’m a HUGE fan of the smooth gazpacho (I could drink that stuff like water it’s SO good), I can see why a chunkier version would also be good. So colourful too – looks great!

  6. I love everything so finely and quite artistically chopped. looks wonderful!

  7. Holly says:

    That sure is some well chopped veg! I can never be patient enough to get it like that and end up using my mini chopper instead… I’m interested to try this recipe having never been/thought of myself as a gazpacho fan! I think this looks so tasty though it must be worth a try – when you say ice – do you mean loads of it? From what I can tell that is the only liquid that will be added to the soup?

  8. SimpleP says:

    Great presentation! One of my favorites.

  9. Sissi says:

    Your chunky gazpacho looks fabulous. I can almost smell it in Switzerland!
    I am very picky with bread. I am surrounded by dozens of shops and bakers in 30 seconds-10 min walking distance and yet I take a bus and make a 2 hour return trip to have perfect French baguettes from my favourite baker…

  10. How perfect for a hot summer day!

  11. Who needs vinegar when you have lemon and lime?! A seriously grand gazpacho (in an equally gorgeous mug!), I like this version a lot. Thank you too for the mentions….too kind!

  12. The mug is beautiful. Place the extra chopped vegetables in the rest of the mugs or small pottery bowls with salt or sugar spoons to serve more “chunk” into your soup.

  13. spicegirlfla says:

    That’s some nice chopping skills you have there!! You’ve got all the ingredients I like in this gazpacho, I wouldn’t change a thing and I’m very happy without the vinegar.

  14. ChefMom says:

    That’s the best looking gazpacho I’ve seen. I think I’m going to have to try it now. I’ve never been a big fan of soups, so usually steer clear. But knowing what goes into it now…there’s really no reason I wouldn’t like it. I’m guessing I’d like the fresh chopped version best.

  15. I was just thinking to myself the other day why I had not yet gazpacho yet this summer…I think its because I have been too busy traveling, going out, and just having too much fun! Soon, though, becuse all of our tomatoes are about to all come in! And, chunky or smooth, I’ll take it either way – just love the freshness of it so much!

  16. Amy says:

    Man, we have blogger esp. First the corn cakes, and now this. I’m actually not going to post it but I made gazpacho for dinner on Sunday! And like you, I didn’t want a pureed version, so mine was all hand chopped veggies too. So funny 🙂 This looks great!

  17. Sara says:

    You’re absolutely right about storebought gazpacho being such a disappointment. Often it’s just a thin watery cold tomato liquid, isn’t it? Nice job chopping those veggies!

  18. This looks excellent! We have friends who would love this! An excellent reason to have them over! Thank you for another great recipe!

  19. Looks good! I’ll subtly suggest to the wife that she make it for me. 🙂

  20. Yes please! Now just to wait for summer – fantastic recipe.
    🙂 Mandy

  21. egg me on says:

    What mighty fine chopping skills! I’m not usually a fan of gazpacho, but yours looks really good and chunky.

  22. G-LO says:

    That looks absolutely delicious. Well done Rufus!

  23. niasunset says:

    WOW! THis is excellent, thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  24. ambrosiana says:

    Wonderful recipe!! I love the presentation of gazpacho in the coffee cup, and the vegetables are chopped to perfection!!

  25. Karen says:

    I have always liked having the extra chopped vegetables to add at the end. Everyone gets to make it their way. So many gazpachos are made so vinegary that it’s impossible to have more than a spoonful or two.

  26. Caroline says:

    I prefer to chop everything by hand as well. Makes it feel more homemade to me somehow. This looks awesome!

  27. Your chopping is so professional. I think you could go on Top Chef and compete and WIN in that quickfire challenge they do that requires precise chopping. Your gazpacho looks so refreshing and full of bold summer flavors!

  28. ASHLEA says:

    I love gazpacho and just made it myself for the first time last week. I am impressed with all that chopping!

  29. ChgoJohn says:

    Your gazpacho, like your mad chopping skills, looks great! Count me firmly in the chopped camp, for I love the textural component to the dish.

  30. So fresh and colorful – perfect on a summer day. Looks great!

  31. eva626 says:

    o0o the cup makes it look all ‘fancy fancy’ !

  32. rsmacaalay says:

    I agree chopping is much better than food processing, thats why I barely use food processor when finely chopping stuff.

  33. joshuafagans says:

    Nice dice skills! This sounds grand. Can’t wait until my slicer tomatoes start going full steam so that I can get some gazpacho going as well.

  34. fresh lime in anything always makes a dish, love the little things…. and I agree, shop bought bread 😦

  35. i bow to your dicing skills… this gazpacho looks fantastic. i’ve never seen gazpacho prepared with a non-blended method before, but i think i might have to try this soon. great work!

  36. I shared this Gazpacho recipe with my mom, and you know she loved it. She is planning on making this, this weekend.

  37. This looks just wonderful and I agree with you about the chopping.

  38. Korena says:

    I don’t actually like raw tomatoes very much, but I recently tasted the most AMAZING gazpacho at a restaurant and now that I know how good it can be, I can truthfully say YUM in response to this!

  39. Andrea says:

    Beautiful! This looks so yummy and the photos are great!

  40. Sounds and looks like a great recipe! But, I’ll be adding no jalapenos because I’m a chicken when it comes to spicy heat in my food.

  41. I have been craving gazpacho since it’s been so ridiculously hot. I will have to try this recipe!

  42. chunky is always the way to go!

  43. Gana says:

    Awesome looking Gazpacho you got there, i like the idea of adding liquors to finish them off, looks fantastic!

  44. Little Cute Bird says:

    I’ll definitely try to make it, it’s so tempting!

  45. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love the fact that you hand chop everything – would make it so much more interesting texturally.

  46. ....RaeDi says:

    My goodness, you are honored with a blue ribbon for chopping, I am truly impressed! The soup look wonderful and will be a try here soon….RaeDi

  47. Pingback: Marinated tomatoes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  48. Pingback: Roasted Tomato Soup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  49. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: You Say Tomato… | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  50. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Summer Soups and Sandwiches | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.