Strawberry Caprese Salad

All aboard the soul train

Like we’ve said before, when it comes to strawberries, simpler is better.

Strawberry Caprese Salad

  • 4 ounce goat cheese log
  • About 1/2 cup sliced strawberries
  • 10 or so basil leaves torn
  • black pepper to taste
  • extra virgin olive oil to taste
  • balsamic vinegar to taste

Pop the cheese in the freezer for about 30 minutes to firm up. Cut into 1/4 inch rounds and spread out on a plate, tucking strawberries and basil in between each cheese slice. Crack some fresh black pepper over the top and drizzle oil and vinegar around the side for dipping. Serve as a dessert or appetizer.

NOTE: We opened the cabinet to find we had no balsamic and it was still wonderful without it. Splurge and use your good oil! We can’t be the only ones with our everyday extra virgin olive oil, our just for salads oil and our only for special occasions oil.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Strawberry Caprese Salad

  1. nrhatch says:

    That looks beautiful.

  2. In flusher days I used to buy a particular light-flavored olive oil just for cakes and my beloved Mosaic fused blood orange oil.

  3. That looks very tasty…

  4. hookedontaste says:

    Wow, beautiful pictures! I never thought of pairing strawberries with fresh mozzarella.

  5. Trust you two to come up with the most innovative dish.. I love this idea!! The strawberries would be fantastic with the balsamic and basil!!

  6. What a great idea- love it!

  7. What a cool idea with the goat cheese! I do a peach caprese with mozzarella that I bet would be fantastic with goat too… hmmm…

    I have special occasion olive oil and special occasion balsamic. 🙂

  8. onewomaninaricefield says:

    Exact words out of my mouth: “Oh. My. God.” Then my tongue fell out of my mouth and onto the floor. Haha!

  9. Karista says:

    Brilliant! So fresh and seasonal. Delish 🙂

  10. Pretty. Colourful. Tasty.
    🙂 Mandy

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    Everything about this dish is good. Really inventive!

  12. Very pretty salad.

  13. niasunset says:

    This is the most beautiful salad for me 🙂 I loved it and also fascinated me your presentation and photograph. You are amazing as always dear Rufus, Thank you. Have a nice weekend for you both, with my love, nia

  14. Mad Dog says:

    How lovely – great presentation too!

  15. Mmmmmm….still waiting for local strawberries!
    This looks like a perfect use for my I-can’t-believe-we-bought-it aged balsamic!

  16. THis is one of my favorite must have salads in the summer! Beautiful presentation!

  17. zestybeandog says:

    Awesome! Great idea and beautiful looking! 🙂

  18. Eva Taylor says:

    Not sure why I find this combo surprising but I do, in a pleasant way! Nice!
    Shhhh, I have everyday balsamic (that I don’t mind drowning steaks in) and very special occasion balsamic. Oh and I have several olive oils too. Happy Friday!!!

  19. Ooooh la la…to you for this wonderful, simple, but extremely elegant and sophisticated use of strawberries. A new twist on the caprese salad my friend. Bravo.

  20. aFrankAngle says:

    Besides looking great, the combo of some of my favorite flavors in one place!

  21. I can definitely have a roller coaster slide on this train. Very very healthy fro any soul.

  22. Judy says:

    We like all kinds of fruit with goat cheese, though I probably would have been tempted to head to the store for balsamic…love that stuff. I like the idea of putting the goat cheese in the freezer first so it slices easier–smart.

  23. Kristy says:

    Mmmm! You know we’re never without our balsamic around here. This looks fantastic and will be a big hit with Miss A!

  24. G-LO says:

    You are so right! There is no reason to doctor up a perfectly ripe and delicious strawberry. And this dish looks fabulous. Once again, well done!

  25. I never would have thought of this combination but it looks fantastic! This will be a great way to get my caprese salad fix when the fresh garden tomatoes are a long way off!

  26. Courtney says:

    Nice! Looks very, very good wiht the combo of flavors.

  27. Andrea says:

    Looks amazing!

  28. spree says:

    what an absolutely FANTASTIC idea!!! Brilliant! Can’t wait to try!

  29. egg me on says:

    Toot, toot! I’d like to hop on the strawberry soul train. Looks great!

  30. rgingco says:

    This looks great! You guys are awesome coming up with this salad. Have a great weekend!

  31. wok with ray says:

    This looks great! You guys are awesome coming up with salad like this. Have a great weekend!

  32. Gorgeous, simple, delicious – all my favorite things!

  33. Joanne Ozug says:

    Strawberry caprese? Are you serious? That is so freakin’ cool. I LOVE this!!!

  34. Jill H says:

    I am absolutely drooling. Another hit!!

  35. Rachel says:

    What a yummy idea! Have you tried fig balsamic? I love it with fruit…mmmmm!

  36. Summer on a plate! Fantastic.

  37. theslowroasteditalian says:

    I love these flavors! Served with a fabulous balsamic reduction… Oh my! Can’t wait for the first summer crop!

  38. theslowroasteditalian says:

    04/28/2012 at 1:01 am? Where are you guys at? It is 6pm here in the 27th.

  39. Such a simple and tasty idea. I like the strawberries better than the tomato idea!

  40. Tessa says:

    This salad looks amazing! I love the idea of using strawberries instead of tomato and goat cheese instead of mozzarella. I’m thinking that white basalmic vinegar would be perfect with this.

  41. rsmacaalay says:

    Nice one! I love this classic

  42. Beautiful – I would never had thought of this combination!

  43. I would love to try these but I am not so big on goat cheese. What would you substitute?

  44. nancyc says:

    That looks so yummy, and such a nice photo!

  45. Jessica says:

    Very pretty! (resisting negative comment about goat cheese)

  46. Love this one!!! It’s going to be bookmarked – very nice idea.

  47. I love this one, too. If it has strawberries it is bound to be good.

  48. billpeeler says:

    What a fantastic idea – great twist on the original caprese salad!

  49. Pingback: Strawberry Caprese Salad « annashortcakes

  50. Pingback: To Everything There is a Season « Eat, Play, Love

  51. Pingback: Do You Know What Angels Eat? | The Orange Bee

  52. Pingback: Strawberries First | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  53. Pingback: Strawberry Season | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  54. Pingback: Do You Know What Angels Eat? - The Orange Bee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.