Christmas in a glass

Are you tired of Christmas yet?

Chocolate, nutmeg, frothy cream… Mmm. This drink is seriously easy to make and seriously good.

Brandy Alexander

  • 3/4 ounce brandy
  • 3/4 ounce creme de cacao
  • 1 ounce heavy cream

Pour ingredients in blender and blend with about 4-5 ice cubes until the ice is incorporated and the drink is a bit frothy. Pour into your prettiest Christmas mug, garnish with freshly ground nutmeg. Enjoy by the fire.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Christmas in a glass

  1. Yuri says:

    Beautifulchristmas plate πŸ™‚ 10 days till the big day!

  2. eva626 says:

    lovely display of xmas! nutmeg is a great spice. chocolate is even better

  3. Carolyn Chan says:

    I remember this was my first cocktail ! Memories….

  4. Is there a limit as to how many cups I can drink?

  5. nrhatch says:

    Yes. Please. πŸ˜€
    Nope. Not tired of Christmas.

    Love your plate . . . “over the river and through the woods . . . to get a Brandy Alexander and sit by the fireplace eating myself silly.”

  6. Kristy says:

    Fabulous! This may replace my gingerbread coffee tomorrow…okay, maybe I’ll wait until tomorrow night. πŸ˜‰

  7. jeanne says:

    I remember a college friend whos Mom would make these on Sunday mornings…It didnt have to be Christmas to enjoy a Brandy Alexander at Benny’s house. Lovely memory!!!

  8. I read your post and it sounded so good that I am now drinking one. I didn’t blend it tough (I’m a lazy drinker). The perfect reward for working until 11p.

  9. easybaked says:

    I’m going to need one of these after I finish wrapping all these crazy gifts! Sounds yummy!!!

  10. k.m. says:

    I am SO READY for Christmas! I am not tired of it at all!

    Of course, I haven’t yet finished all of my handmade gifts, I lost my cellphone, and we still haven’t set up the tree.

    I think the alcohol will help with all three of these projects πŸ˜‰

  11. Gorgeous photo of a holiday treat! : )

  12. Good idea! I haven’t had a brandy alexander in a long time

  13. This looks amazing.. I may have to send this right over to my moms email and see what she thinks πŸ™‚

  14. My mum always used to make this as the “after dinner coktail”. Will have to revive the tradition when they are over…brilliant idea and it bought back so many (slightly blurry) memories!

  15. niasunset says:

    Wonderful. And I loved the photograph too. Christmas is the most exciting and nice time of a year… (for me a special connection of my childhood memories in Europe) Thank you dear Rufus, with my love, nia

  16. Tandy says:

    sorry, this one is not for me – it does however remind me of Christmas in New York πŸ™‚

  17. This looks mighty tempting, I can see the attraction of Christmas in a a glass!

  18. SimpleP says:

    That looks delicious!

  19. My first-ever mixed drink, too…Gawd, that was a long time ago!
    I’ll stick with a nice porto now, but thanks for the memories!

  20. Very much like the sound of that. One of the advantages of living in the middle of nowhere means that there is very little evidence of Christmas of which to tire. The French like having Santa Claus dolls hung out of the window, to appear as though they are climbing in with a sack of toys – the only difference is that they never, I mean never, take them down. It just looks as though the villages have a plague of tiny burglars climbing into windows.

  21. niasunset says:

    Good Morning Dear Katherine and Dear Rufus, I wanted to let you know I’ve given you the Reader Appreciation award.

    http://photographyofnia.com/2011/12/15/what-a-nice-award/

  22. Need to make one of these ASAP.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  23. Pingback: The Christmas Spirit | Sprint 2 the Table

  24. ceciliag says:

    Pick ME! i have the freshest cream and I love milky drinks esp with brandy in them!

  25. No! I won’t be tired of Christmas until New Year’s, and even then it’s only because I don’t want to bother to take down the Christmas tree.

  26. Christina says:

    Looks delicious! Is it bad that it is only 8am and I want one? Ha! πŸ˜‰

  27. ChgoJohn says:

    Leave one of these for Santa with a few biscotti and I bet you get better toys this Christmas!

  28. egg me on says:

    Oooo a boozy Christmas milkshake! That’s what I’m calling this. And it looks awesome. I bet you’d hardly even know the brandy is there, making these very dangerous. Sweet Santa plate, too.

  29. Carrots for the reindeer and a “Christmas in a glass” for Santa. I think you will be less likely to get coal in your stocking this year. Sounds delicious.

  30. zestybeandog says:

    Looks sinfully good! πŸ˜‰

  31. Mmm. I haven’t made brandy alexanders in years! Last time was sometime in college… (when it was somehow even more socially acceptable to drink peppermint schnapps hot chocolate, hot toddies etc. all winter long :)).

  32. Yum – it certainly looks like Christmas in a glass, but it almost seems like a meal in a glass. I like that. πŸ™‚

  33. spree says:

    Wine’s our drink but at your “suggestion” we bought a bottle of pumpkin pie liqueur at Thanksgiving (sadly, only one) and have been savoring it, trying to make it last the season. Your pumpkin pie martinis are SUCH a hit around here! It’s looking like your brandy Alexander may be stepping in to fill a gap. Thanks Rufus…you’ll have made one chubby guy very happy.

  34. Yum! So easy and looks so good. Great for a cold evening. I will try this one, too.

  35. spicegirlfla says:

    Just one glass? How bout if I take one and leave one out for Santa?

  36. A_Boleyn says:

    Lovely plate. Tempts me to bring my mom’s Xmas china set out of the basement. I bought it for her when I was a kid and didn’t have a lot of money but wanted to give her something I thought she’d actually use. πŸ™‚

    What’s your favourite brand of brandy to drink/cook with etc? I’m tempted to go to the LCBO and go wild with my credit card.

    • I have a really nice brandy from a winery in California, Jaxon Keys. We bought it there.But that’s not to be mixed. For cooking, plain old E&J. Sometimes we use cognac for fancier stuff. Just a standard brand. We generally cook with cheap stuff.

      • A_Boleyn says:

        Ernest and Julio are familiar names in this neck of the Canadian woods. πŸ™‚ I’m not a brandy or whiskey drinker. Heck, I don’t even drink wine more than a few times a year but I usually have a couple of nice bottles of liqueur (Grand Marnier and Creme de Cassis currently) in the house to cook with. I’m hoping to finally crack open the cranberry mead (honey wine) this year and use them in … truffles, dare I say. πŸ™‚

        Although the nephew bought me a bottle of Tequila at the duty free this fall and seem to remember a tequila chicken recipe I saw somewhere.

  37. Caroline says:

    Tired of Christmas?! Daz crazy talk. I’m just getting started. Oh, and I’m with Linda…leave a glass out for Santa. I’m sure it would make his night. πŸ˜‰

  38. I don’t have any pretty Christmas mugs. I do however have the ugliest Christmas mug given to me in Germany, that I can’t quite get rid of due to the memories attached to it.

  39. I think I need one of these while I wrap presents tonight. That sounds divine. Love the glass it’s in too!

  40. that really is christmas in a glass. . . minus the tree

  41. Eva Taylor says:

    That looks sinfully rich Greg. Cheers to you and Katherine!

  42. Love a good Brandy Alexander…thanks for reminding me that it’s seasonal and I must have one!

  43. Courtney says:

    Tonight. I will be having this tonight. (if not earlier)

  44. Definately easy to make. Some of the healthy drinks can also be prepared with relatively less effort too.

  45. Sissi says:

    It sounds much better than a mug of hot chocolate!

  46. Karen says:

    There was a wonderful waterfront restaurant in Ft. Lauderdale that made a Brandy Alexander that I would have as dessert. They served it with a dollop of ice cream…yum.

  47. Stef says:

    This reminds me of my mom – she would let my sister and I have a sip of her Christmas Brandy Alexander each year. Yum.

  48. Charles says:

    Makes me wish it were Christmas eve… and that I was like 12… but then I wouldn’t be able to enjoy this… but at least Santa would come to visit me… oh, the choices. Looks really good Greg πŸ™‚

  49. Yum! This seems like nice contrast to all the hot beverages we get this time of year.

  50. Pingback: Winter Drink Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.