Fennel Lemonade

Something's tickling my nose

Something’s tickling my nose

By Katherine

On Saturday mornings we hit the farmers market in town and each week I’m tempted to splurge on fennel lemonade sold at a stand that specializes in homemade juices and gives out free samples. But I always get sticker shock when I see that it’s still $25 for a liter and know that Greg will spend that much on mushrooms if I don’t stage an intervention. (He’ll protest that he’s never gone over $20.) When we bought some fennel bulbs I figured I finally had to bite the bullet and make my own.

Fennel Lemonade

For fennel simple syrup

  • 4 cups water
  • 4 cups fennel fronds
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup honey

For lemonade

  • 1 1/2 cups lemon juice
  • 2 cups fennel syrup
  • roughly 1 cup water

Combine all ingredients for syrup in a heavy stock pan and set over medium heat, stirring until sugar and honey are dissolved. Remove from heat and let cool completely. Strain two cups into pitcher add lemon juice and water and refrigerate. Store the rest of the syrup in a glass container in the refrigerator. Add more water or sparkling water to taste when ready to serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fennel Lemonade

  1. Karie Engels says:

    Interesting. I’m going to try this. 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

