Sweet Potato Tatties

I know they are not authentic tatties

I know they are not authentic tatties

So this is what happens when you forget to buy potatoes but have a mess of sweet potatoes still around from last year’s harvest. The final result was actually very good and the sweeter flavor of the yams and molasses went very well with the rest of a traditional Irish breakfast. For the standard tattie recipe go here.

We’re still having fun trying out our new camera phone. To read a more thorough review of the Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge go here.

Sweet Potato Tatties

  • 1 lb sweet potato baked
  • 1 tbsp molasses
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp melted butter
  • 3/4-1 cup flour

Remove skins from cooked potatoes and mash with butter, molasses and cinnamon. Slowly add flour until a rough dough forms. Heavily flour the counter and roll dough out to 1/8″ thick. Cut into squares and fry in butter until browned on both sides. Serve hot. Cooked tatties will keep in the refrigerator for at least a week and in the freezer for ever. Toss them in a toaster to rewarm them.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sweet Potato Tatties

  1. YUM!! I am adding this recipe to my collection!

  2. I just made tortillas using almost the same recipe! I will try this one next. c

  3. laurasmess says:

    These sound amazing, are they kind of like sweet potato pancakes? For breakfast? I think I ate something similar in Scotland a couple of years ago…

  4. Cecile says:

    You are a wonder my friend – these look great. ‘Ain’t it just amazin’ what we can come up with when we have forgotten to buy something??!!! ; o )

  5. What a great idea! Both for breakfast and as a side to accompany pretty much anything πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

