A Reuben for the Handyman

food00344

By Katherine

Another house project is underway so I’ve taken over most of the day-to-day cooking as Greg solders pipes, hangs drywall and breaks out power tools. Yes, I’m also helping with the project. So far I’ve stripped wallpaper, removed popcorn ceiling, painted and primed. I also spent an uncomfortable spell in our crawl space. Greg is the skilled laborer though and it’s best if I stay out of his way when he doesn’t need me. As our readers know, he cooks more than me in general except when we have a project underway. Lately, I’ve been sticking to comfort foods that make lots of leftovers: red beans and rice, mac and cheese (I added broccoli to make it healthy) and some hearty soups. I pulled out all the stops for Greg’s birthday, but for the most part favor meals that can be made ahead — his breaks don’t stick to a schedule — or left on the stove in the event I’m sent on a Home Depot run. Making a Reuben was perfect because it’s one of his favorites. Plus I could make the sauce in the morning and put the sandwich together in a hurry.

Reuben

For the dressing:

  • 3/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp hot sauce
  • 1/4 cup diced dill pickle, plus 1 tbsp pickle juice
  • 1/4 cup onion
  • 1/4 cup diced bell pepper
  • salt/pepper to taste

Mix ingredients together for dressing and refrigerate until ready to use. Assemble sandwich by spreading dressing on the top side of one slice of bread. Layer desired amount of pastrami, sauerkraut and a layer of Swiss. Drizzle more dressing along the top and place remaining piece of rye on top. You can grill your Reuben if you wish, but I toasted my bread and popped the sandwich under the broiler until the cheese was melted.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Pork, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Reuben for the Handyman

  1. What a fantastic looking Reuben. My husband adores Reubens and I’m pinning this one.

  2. Kia / KTS says:

    Oh my goodness… I haven’t had a Reuben in so long. It used to be me and my mothers favorite sandwich. I must make this. Love this easy recipe guys.

  3. laurasmess says:

    Ohhhh my golly. Can I please be your handy person?! This looks delicious. Very well deserved for Greg. Fingers crossed that the rest of the reno finishes quickly!

Leave a Reply

