Vichyssoise

The cream is the secret

The cream is the secret

This is a fairly simple soup to make, but it does require a couple hours to chill so plan ahead.

Vichyssoise

  • 2 lbs potatoes skinned and diced small
  • 4 large leeks cleaned and finely sliced, about 6 cups
  • 8 cups vegetable stock
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 6-8 garlic scapes chopped fine
  • Salt/pepper

Combine potatoes, leeks, broth and wine in a large stock pot and cook at a low simmer until potatoes are tender, about 40 minutes. Using an immersion blender or food mill process until smooth. Pass soup through a fine mesh sieve, then return to pot and add 1 cup cream and scapes and season with salt and pepper. Bring back to a simmer and cook 10 minutes then remove from heat and chill. Place a piece of plastic wrap on the surface of the soup to prevent skin from forming. Beat remaining cream until thick but peaks do not form. Stir a tbsp of cream into each bowl of soup.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Soups, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vichyssoise

  1. Kristy says:

    I’ve never had this or known what it was, but have heard of it. Glad you posted as I think it’s a soup I would enjoy.

  2. I want to make this!! ; o )

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    I love a chilled soup in the hot weather. I’m sure my kin who are staying with us from Hungary would like it too!

Leave a Reply

