Lamb Shoulder Chops with Mint Chimichurri

S for saucy

S for saucy

Here is a great way to combine the flavor of mint and lamb without using some sort of jelly abomination. This sauce would work well for lamb chops or for a rack of lamb.

Lamb Chops with Chimichurri Sauce

For chimichurri

  • 1 cup packed mint leaves
  • 1 cup parsley
  • 1/8 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic

For lamb

  • 2 lbs lamb chops 1″ thick fat sliced on edge to prevent curling
  • Paprika
  • Salt/pepper
  • 2 tbsp butter

In a blender pulse all ingredients for sauce until smooth. Spoon into a bowl and refrigerate 1 hour before serving. Heat oven to 365 degrees. In a large frying pan melt butter and sear lamb chops on one side for 3 minutes on high heat. Flip and place pan in oven. Roast meat until rare, about 3 minutes. Remove from oven and let stand for 10 minutes before serving with sauce.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Lamb, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lamb Shoulder Chops with Mint Chimichurri

  1. TasteFood says:

    This is exactly how I like my lamb. No jelly allowed.

  2. Love these kind of chops with the marrow bone.

  3. Beauiful and you get to nibble the bones too!

  4. A_Boleyn says:

    Beautiful chop and the chimichurri looks so fresh.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    I have never been a big lamb eater up until about a year ago when I tested a recipe for a red wine braised lamb shank and I’ve been hooked ever since. It’a quite expensive and difficult to get lamb shanks here but when I do see them I buy and freeze. The chops are much easier to come by. I love the chimichurri sauce, makes me want to have some right now.

  6. Yeah, my mouth is watering now!

  7. Mmm, looks great, how long should I cook it for ‘medium’ finish? Or is lamb best enjoyed rare?
    Going to give that mint a go real soon.

Leave a Reply

