In Our Kitchen: Marinara and Pretty Things

Wild flowers in a fancy glass

Wild flowers in a fancy glass

So who remembers those glasses from their grandparents house? The 70s are back.

I wonder if that recipe is any good

I wonder if that recipe is any good

I have to say that Kroger brand tomatoes are pretty good for marinara. I prefer Hunts but it has been awhile since they were on sale.

Speaking of going cheap

Speaking of going cheap

We found this clearance wine at a regular stop of ours that is always good for finding bargain booze that tastes pretty good. Of course I use Botta box for cooking so this was just to keep us company for the afternoon. Another bottle said hello during dinner.

Who loves garlic

Who loves garlic

That pile of garlic is for the meatballs and the sauce. As you can see, it is the last of the harvest from last year so there is a little bit of green but it is still tasty and firm.

Time to skim the foam

Time to skim the foam

We also went out for dinner and Katherine ordered a rack of lamb. We have started bringing the bones home from meals out to make stocks. Just keep them in a bag in the freezer until enough have piled up. We use our dog as an excuse to the nosy waiters, and after the stock is done he does get to enjoy the bones as well.

To get a peek inside other bloggers’ kitchens hop on over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for her monthly roundup.

 

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to In Our Kitchen: Marinara and Pretty Things

  1. Angeline M says:

    I love that a second bottle of wine said hello at dinner. Such friendly wine.

  2. Your flowers brightened my day and cheap wines don’t always have to be nasty! Love the chook peeking out from behind the bottle as part of your kitchen view this month too!

  3. Ha ha – I am a bone hoarder too. I just made a huge load of chicken stock and am currently saving beef and pork bones for a meat stock. Glad to find fellow (Rufus) spirits! xx

  4. My freezer is like a grave yard and a sperm bank with the amount of “saved” bones and egg whites I’ve got. Thanks for the peek into your kitchen.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    That’s a great idea with the bones! I love the in my kitchen series. We try to get tomatoes that are low in sodium, it’s mind boggling how much salt is in canned goods.

  6. Kirsty says:

    Great tip for ‘doggy bagging’ bones from dinners out. I must remember to say I too have a dog! I made my first stock ever recently using chicken bones from a butterflied chicken. Waaaay less salty than the commercial stocks and so much more flavour! I bet your marinara sauce was tres amazing with all that wonderful garlic. Yummm, cheers, Kirsty xx

  7. I bow to your brilliant frugal thinking – bringing bones home to turn into stock is genius! Great price on the wine too! 🙂

  8. Moya says:

    Love those pretty glasses, maybe I should be a bone collector too 🙂

  9. Kim Bultman says:

    Greg, I left a comment earlier but my internet signal was cut short by a rain storm… hope it came through.

  10. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    Cheap wines can be good too! Plus you can afford the second bottle for dinner!! Looks like you’ve been busy making a lot of marinara. I can’t wait for all my tomatoes to come in and roast them for sauces to freeze. I am just finishing my last of last year’s stash.

  11. That’s ingenious taking home your bones from your meals. There is nothing better than homemade stock. That is a lot of garlic. I feel faint at the amount of effort taken to peel that 🙂

  12. we love garlic at our house. how wonderful to have your own harvest!

Leave a Reply

