In Our Kitchen

They are not ballons

They are not balloons

Who can guess what is pictured above.

Winner gets a super prize called self satisfaction.

Here is another hint.

It is getting to be time to buy a professional grinder and stuffer

It is getting to be time to buy a professional grinder and stuffer

Pork shoulder finally went on sale. Enough hints.

Anyway a friend made us a fantastic note holder out of old corks. It seems we may not be the only ones who reuse corks for decoration.

That grocery list is way too short

That grocery list is way too short

She also brought us a whole bunch of fresh eggs from her chickens. Can anyone say fried eggs and grits for breakfast? I know I did.

They are pretty clean too

They are pretty clean too

I had planned to talk about the garden but with all the &%###&*%$# troublesome *&^%$##$% late season *#@$%^#@%& snowfall and &$%$#%^& really *&%$#$%* cold weather that will have to wait till next month. Instead here is a friendly photo of some pancakes. The syrup is ok, not great, but ok.

Fried eggs are not optional

Fried eggs are not optional

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to In Our Kitchen

  1. sallybr says:

    Pig intestines washed out and ready to stuff to make homemade sausage… wow! Talk about a serious culinary project!

    I won’t comment on the cold weather. (pout)

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Sausage casings … home made sausage, eggs, pancakes. All make for a great breakfast.

  3. BrainRants says:

    Sausage… yeees my preeeciouuus…

  4. Saussages!!!!Yum. I tried to make some the other day without casing (not available here). Re wine corks, thanks, now I know what to do with our lot 🙂

  5. elyann14 says:

    It’s pig intestines washed and ready to prepare sausages! My godfather used to make them =) so yummy!

  6. Everyone beat me to it….

  7. Aha – I’m on my way over for breakfast!

  8. safifer says:

    Very familiar looking! Those “natural” sausage casings–love good sausage.

  9. Ah those intestines look familiar from years of salami making growing up…..

  10. Clever idea for the wine corks.

    Eggs and sausage, heavenly.

  11. You can’t beat fresh eggs… or good sausages.

  12. Eva Taylor says:

    Sausage casing for sure. I have some in the freezer just waiting for the chicken to go on sale so I can make chicken, feta and spinach sausages! You can’t beat home made sausages. Can’t wait to see the recipe.
    Wish I had a friend with chickens…fresh eggs are TDF.

  13. Kavey says:

    I went on a cookery class a couple of months ago and we made sausages, these were fuet, so all of us took some home to hang them for a few weeks, and now I have gorgeous home made fuet in my freezer! I really want to get into sausage making at home too!

  14. Rachel says:

    Pancakes look yummy… sausage casings will look yummier when fill I think 😉 Oh hungry… mmmm!

  15. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    Homemade sausage, sign me up! It has indeed been a rough winter for so many. We managed to escape with just a few flurries last week here in South Carolina. All the seedlings for our garden are sitting on my kitchen table now waiting to go outside in a couple weeks. Love the use of cork, may have to make one of those myself.

  16. I love that you are so familiar with grades of maple syrup that you can tell us that it’s OK, not great but OK. Oh to have to many maple syrup options down under. We take what we can get. Then again, I’m an expert on mangoes. cheers

    ps: natural sausage casings, I’m guessing

  17. I’m going to have to start saving my corks. Love that note idea!

  18. I could sure go for a stack of those pancakes this morning all I had time for was an apple out the door.

  19. Kim Bultman says:

    Sausage casings were my vote for your mystery item, too. 😉 I remember my Dad making homemade sausages in our basement (a Midwest sub-ground level), grinding pork and fixin’s with my Grandma’s old grinder — and cranking them out and tying them off by hand with a vintage sausage press. So much easier these days. Enjoy every bite — especially with those pancakes and fresh eggs!

  20. Elizabeth says:

    I can’t wait to see the finished sausages… I enjoy making them, but particularly eating them 🙂 How nice of your friend to bring around eggs, I would love to give some to my friends, but we seem to eat them all before I have a chance to give them away! Thanks for sharing! Liz xx

Leave a Reply

