In Our Kitchen

Just a light snack to wet the appetite

Just a light snack to wet the appetite

Above is the first course/munching tray Katherine made for my birthday while we grilled the steaks and deep fried the potatoes. It featured some homemade pickles, deli favorites like pimento cheese and excellent pates and cold cuts from a new butcher in town called Butcher and Public. I for one am very excited to see what they continue to offer in charcuterie.

Rocky and I approve this bottle

Rocky and I approve this bottle

Speaking of relatively new businesses to open in Little Rock there are quite a few breweries offering up craft beer. Of the three new ones to open I like Blue Canoe’s range of offerings and quality of beers the best. Lost Forty and Stone’s Throw also offer strong options and all three have their storefronts open and taps flowing. With the new tap rooms open and about to open downtown and the classic breweries like Vino’s going strong, one could say the craft beer scene has exploded. Now if only we could get rid of the dry counties all over the state.

Life is like a tray of taters somehow

Life is like a tray of taters somehow

The oven-crisped potato wedges were a side to go with a simple meat stew. I like how red potatoes roast in the oven the best.

Below is an example of how even a simple dish can require a ton of cleanup.

Why is it that a simple stew always uses the most pans

Why is it that a simple stew always uses the most pans?

To get a peek inside other bloggers’ kitchens hop on over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for her monthly roundup.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Rants, Restaurants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to In Our Kitchen

  1. cecilia says:

    Love your pots and pans.. c

    On Sun, Feb 1, 2015 at 9:08 PM, Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide wrote:

    > Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide posted: ” Above is the first > course/munching tray Katherine made for my birthday while we grilled the > steaks and deep fried the potatoes. It featured some homemade pickles, deli > favorites like pimento cheese and excellent pates and cold cuts from a new > butcher “

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Happy Birthday!

    I’d make a complete meal of that charcuterie platter and wash it down with a bottle of the beer. 🙂

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    Rocky ROCKS! But then again you guys do too! Happy birthday again, hope you had a great one!

  4. sallybr says:

    Love your All-Clad pans… I don’t have any, and always flirt with them in catalogs and websites. Pricey… (sigh)

  5. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    Happy belated birthday! Looks like you had a good time. I wish I had a dish fairy to clean up my pots and pans, a necessary evil to good home cooked food.

  6. mmm those taters look tempting! I would just hang out in your kitchen all day.

  7. Ha – I know what you mean about the washing up. It’s done and then you turn around and there’s more. How is it possible? Great looking platter. Thanks for sharing. Fiona

  8. Lovely nibbles platter. I think I’d polish the lot off on my own! Dirty dishes and washing up are about the only cons when it comes to being a cook.

  9. You guys are meticulous – I loved seeing the potatoes lined up so neatly to roast! Love the cold platter – my idea of a perfect lunch, maybe with a little sourdough – and how nice for you to have artisan breweries opening up! Have a great rest of the month! 🙂

  10. SeattleDee says:

    What fun to click through on all of your links to see what’s happening outside your kitchen (as well as inside, of course).

  11. Kim Bultman says:

    It would be worth the drive to Little Rock to put together an equivalent snack tray… sigh… thanks for the link to Butcher & Public. Belated birthday wishes, too!

Leave a Reply

