Fending off Scurvy a Drink at a Time

Those cherries are full of booze as well

Those cherries are full of booze as well

Grapefruits are wonderful at this time of year so we’ve been making a lot of drinks that use their juice as the main ingredient. Two of our favorite grapefruit drinks to make for crowds are the Blinder (above) and the Paloma (below.)

Oh the wonders of tequila

Oh the wonders of tequila

We also love making up a pitcher of Gin and Juice.

Snoop wishes he sang about this

Snoop wishes he sang about this

Don’t forget old standbys like the Salty Dog, the Greyhound and the Sea Breeze.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Spirits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fending off Scurvy a Drink at a Time

  1. Oh, I had to smile when I saw the title of this post – our mother always used to threaten us with scurvy if we didn’t eat our greens! Hey, but this is a much better way to prevent it – I will pass it onto my brothers!

  2. cecilia says:

    Ha ha ha.. sounds perfick!!.. c

  3. susanlaury says:

    I’ve been into fresh grapefruit cocktails recently. My (current) favorite is to add a bit of rosemary-infused simple syrup to a greyhound, but may have to try the Paloma as a nightcap.

  4. I need to get started on this scurvy intervention.

Leave a Reply

