Gingered Cranberry Sauce

It's like a little orange umbrella

It’s like a little orange umbrella

There are so many delicious ways to make cranberry sauce, that we hardly make it the same way twice. Here’s a flavorful sauce that calls for just a few ingredients. If you don’t have a tangerine, substitute the zest from half an orange.

Gingered Cranberry Sauce

  • 12 oz cranberries, fresh or frozen
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • zest from one tangerine

Combine everything in a three-quart stock pan and set over medium heat. Bring to a boil. Lower heat and let simmer until thick, about 15-20 minutes. Can be made several days ahead and refrigerated.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Gingered Cranberry Sauce

  1. Oh, so pretty! Oh and the recipe sounds pretty good too – thanks.

  2. Getting ready for thanks giving…delicious!

  3. Cecile says:

    I bet this tastes fabulous!! I’ve been looking for something new to do with cranberries AND I happen to have two bags right now!!

  4. Cecile says:

    Funny story… I’ve been working on a series of recipes I’m calling ‘Make Ahead Turkey Dinner.’ Everything has turned out wonderfully ….. except for the cranberry sauce, which I ended up throwing away… I thought I had a genius idea and substituted 1/3 cup OJ for water…. IT WAS DISGUSTING !! And I know from experience ‘you can’t fix sour’.!
    If it’s OK with you, I’m going to include a link to your recipe on my last recipe in the series which is a recipe for cooking turkey and making gravy. I think your recipe’s gonna fit beautifully into that post. I’ll post a photo along with the link !

  5. Bernice says:

    Looks wonderful!!

  6. Alicia says:

    I love a good cranberry sauce! I haven’t tried adding ginger, but I’ll have to try…

  7. Pingback: “Make Ahead Turkey Dinner” – Recipes No. 4 & 5 – Roasted Turkey Breast (or Whole Turkey) with White Wine, Oranges and Apples & Savory Turkey Gravy | My Yellow Farmhouse

  8. Cecile says:

    Mike – I just posted your recipe for ‘Gingered Cranberry Sauce’ and ‘J.J. Begonias’ ‘Green Bean Casserole – Made 3 Ways’ at the bottom of my post about roasting a turkey and making the gravy. I appreciate you allowing me to post your recipe. I know people are going to follow the link because this recipe looks delicious!! I know I’m going to serve this cranberry sauce!

    • Cecile, Thanks. I actually go by a number of names, just ask my wife. But Mike isn’t one of them. Greg, Rufus, Daddy-O those all work!

      • Cecile says:

        I JUST KNEW IT !!!!!! My husband always told me, ‘Cecile, stay away from names!’ So now I’m going to have to ‘get the name Mike outta there’… I think I’ll change it to Greg (Daddy-O !!) I hope you & Carolyn get a lot of ‘ping backs’ for those two great recipes! (I just hope to hell her name really is Carolyn !! )

  9. Cecile says:

    Oops – I meant to say that I posted the link and a photo, plus your comment. I didn’t post the recipe !! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving in your new kitchen. Is this the first or second Thanksgiving in the ‘new and improved kitchen’? ; o )

  10. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

