Cherry Smash

It will make you smashed

It will make you smashed

Don’t let the name fool you. This drink packs a punch. This recipe is adapted from one we found on Templeton Rye’s website.

Cherry Smash

  • 2 oz rye
  • 1 oz cherry herring or cherry bourbon
  • 3/4 oz lemon juice
  • 1/4 oz simple syrup
  • 2 drops cherry bitters
  • bourbon cherries for garnish

Mix everything but the bitters and cherries in a cocktail shaker with ice. Strain into a tumbler with ice. Shake in bitters. Garnish with bourbon cherries.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cherry Smash

  1. I have a party to go to and I am going to make this in bulk. It will be perfect for the holidays…Cherry Bourbon! Wow!

  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

    Daddy used to make his own “Cherry Bounce” in a 5-gallon jug in the kitchen. He’d take 4 gallons of the best North Carolina 180-proof Moonshine and then about a quart of drained maraschino cherries and mix them together. You let that sit for a time until the cherries lose almost all their color and share it with friends.

    Daddy drove ‘shine as a kid – until he got caught and the tar beat out of him by his father. Later, as a respectable businessman he made “parts” for ‘shiners according to what they wanted.

    • Jackie, That is the coolest story ever! We love your dad.

      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

        My father never made shine but he wanted my brother to know how it was done – in a pure historical sense. He actually made a miniature moonshine still that might make a small amount at a time; it looks like a toy. My brother shows it off now and then and says to keep it legal that he cannot keep it together in one place so he takes the tubing and leaves it with a friend.

        Daddy did not drink much Cherry Bounce; he kept it for friends that came to visit and out-of-state visitors. He’d sit down and tell these tales that were very funny and often poked fun at “Yankees.” I used to tell that I was about 21 before I knew that “damn” and “Yankee” was two words. He was quite the storyteller, he was, and shine had no end in North Carolina.

        My older brother in the Navy used to travel all over the globe with a quart of Cherry Bounce. Whenever he was caught carrying the bootleg liquor all he’d have to do was smile… after all he was a serviceman and he only wanted to show his buddies what real moonshine tasted like – it would take your breath.

        My Dad died about five years ago of – you guessed it – alcoholism and cirrhosis of the liver, he was 73. I myself never had anything stronger than a little wine around the holidays. I really miss my Daddy, all girls do. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Summer Sips | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

