Pumpkin and Chocolate Chip Muffins

Not the prettiest on the outside though

Not the prettiest on the outside though

Pumpkin recipes are a bit infuriating, aside from that one that has you dump a whole can into a box of spice cake, (no, we haven’t tried that, but we know people who swear by it) they all seem to call for only half a can. More power to those who make their own puree. We use Libby’s or generic. We whipped these up after making a batch of pumpkin biscotti. We recommend you do the same. We’ll put on the coffee.

Pumpkin and Chocolate Chip Muffins

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp molasses
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups white flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch ground cloves
  • pinch nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a loaf pan or two muffin tins. Mix flours, baking powder, salt and spices in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl whisk together brown sugar, molasses, butter, pumpkin and egg until well incorporated. Add all at once to dry ingredients. Stir until just incorporated. Fold in chocolate. Pour in prepared muffin tins or loaf pan. Cook until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean, about 25 minutes for muffins or roughly twice that for a loaf pan. Cool before slicing.

 

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pumpkin and Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. sallybr says:

    You post made me smile, I don’t think I ever noticed that most recipes call for half a can, but then I browsed a few of my files, and some recipes in the net, and it is true…

    well, on the positive side, it is not an expensive ingredient, and between you and me…. our dogs love a little pumpkin puree mixed into their food 😉

  2. Gerlinde says:

    I wish I had a dog but all I have is worms and they eat all vegie leftovers and produce great compost and worm juice for my garden, I have to try those muffins.

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    I still have a half a tin of pumpkin in the freezer from last year. Yes indeed it’s infuriating to say the least.

  4. These cookies would be delicious with a cup of coffee! I have done the cake mix pumpkin thing for cupcakes, and it’s pretty darned good!

  5. nrhatch says:

    That’s because Libby’s wants you to make a double batch . . . and send one to me!

  6. Raymund says:

    I love this specially dunked in hot milk

  7. I want these in my kitchen right now. I wish I could steal them off the plate lol

  8. 1/2 a can *roll eyes* can’t stop laughing :’D

Leave a Reply

