Fall and Winter Garden

What is hiding under all that soil

What is hiding under all that soil

For those folks who have not already done so, now is the time to plant for anything that needs to overwinter, like garlic and carrots. It is also time to plant for the fall garden here in the south. Anyone in a cooler climate probably should have done that in August.

This year I am trying turnips along with the garlic and carrots to see how they survive over the winter. I am hoping for a early spring harvest but since this is my first attempt time will tell. For the fall I planted spinach and Swiss chard and I hope to get another crop of eggplant and green peppers along with the greens. I also may get another crop of tomatoes but that would just be crazy.

For those who are wondering yes that is a giant basil plant in the background.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden, How to and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fall and Winter Garden

  1. Misky says:

    That rosemary bush is a beauty! Do you trim it so it doesn’t become a monster? I’ve had a few over the years turn into ‘trees’ that needed chopping down. πŸ™‚

    >

  2. Eva Taylor says:

    Thanks for the reminder. I’m definitely going to try garlic again, I’ve not had much success in the past.

  3. nancyc says:

    I didn’t realize carrots needed to be planted in the fall. How nice to have so much basil and that big bush of rosemary! Next time I have a garden, I will definitely be planting those!

  4. Love love fresh herbs and you have quite a hearty crop. I can’t wait to see all of your delicious recipes.

  5. I was impressed with your rosemary too. I have to pull mine up and dry it for winter. My basil is done for the year already too. 😦

Leave a Reply

