Baked Beans with Brown Sugar and Bacon

Beans beans the musical fruit

Beans beans the musical fruit

Homemade baked beans take time to cook, but they’re worth the effort and good all year round. Yes, they require hours of baking, but we’re in a state where the AC is fairly mandatory in the summer.

Baked Beans with Brown Sugar and Bacon

  • 1 pound dried great Northern beans
  • 8 slices bacon, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 cup Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground pepper

Soak beans overnight. Drain, rinse and set aside. Preheat oven to 350. In a Dutch oven, cook bacon until crisp, remove bacon and place on a plate lined with a paper towel reserving enough bacon fat to brown onions. Saute onions in reserved drippings until tender. Add beans and remaining ingredients to pot, stirring to incorporate. Bring to a boil. Move pot to oven and cook uncovered, stirring occasionally, until beans are tender, the sauce is nice and thick, about four hours. Can be made the day before. Bring back to a simmer before serving.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Pork, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Baked Beans with Brown Sugar and Bacon

  1. sallybr says:

    another classic I never make at home, not sure why…. I guess the Brazilian style black beans wins the competition because I grew up eating those… but the flavors of the traditional American baked beans, sweet and savory at the same time… hard to beat!

  2. Matthew says:

    Reblogged this on Carolina Mountain Blue and commented:
    Definitely something worth trying later on in the year… 🙂

  3. I’ve always wanted to make my own baked beans and now I know how! They look wonderful and I bet they tasted great 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    Baked beans are a real classic here in New England…everyone loves them. Yours sound great.

  5. A_Boleyn says:

    I’ve wanted to make my own baked beans for a while now too. I’d like to use dry beans that I already have in my pantry though as I have a big bag of “Berta Talaska” … kind of like giant pinto beans, that I wouldn’t mind trying. I wonder if they’d work.

    http://a-boleyn.livejournal.com/190646.html

  6. Gerlinde says:

    Maybe this recipe will motivate me to make my own baked beans. I’m still doing your candied figs , the problem is that I eat one every day , by the time they are done I want have any left. They are delicious.

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ll definitely be giving these a try, Greg. Thanks for sharing.

  8. These sound perfect for cooler weather.

Leave a Reply

