Spicy Dill and Spicy Sweet Dill Pickles

Another batch of pickles

Another batch of pickles

By working with a farmer at the local market I got 10 pounds of freshly picked pickling cucumbers no longer than four inches each. Time to start canning.

This year I tried two dill pickle recipes, one spicy and one spicy and sweet. I used fresh dill and even though the cucumbers were picked that day I still soaked them in ice water for four hours. Each recipe fills about five 24-ounce jars. Follow these instructions to sterilize, pack and seal the jars.

Sweet and Spicy Dill Pickles

  • 3 cups water
  • 3 cups white vinegar
  • 2 cups cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 5 lbs whole pickling cucumbers
  • 1/4 large sweet red onion sliced into thin wedges
  • 10 cloves garlic
  • 5 jalapeno peppers quartered
  • 1 tsp mustard seed per jar
  • 1/2 tsp celery seed per jar
  • 6-8 sprigs dill per jar

Bring the slat, vinegars and water to a boil. Pack jars equally with spices, garlic, onion, jalapeno, and pickles. Pour boiling brine over and seal.

Spicy Dill Pickles

  • 3 cups water
  • 5 cups white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 5 lbs whole pickling cucumbers
  • 10 cloves garlic
  • 12 sprigs dill
  • 3 jalapenos quartered

Do the same steps as above.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden, How to, Recipes, Things in Jars, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spicy Dill and Spicy Sweet Dill Pickles

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    I adore home made pickles! My Mom used to make them. I had cucumbers in my first garden and it yielded one jar of pickles!

  2. I ask you…is there anything more beautiful than a group of canning jars filled up with your own canning efforts? I just love this photo, reminds me of all the canning done over the ages. Thanks for the recipes and reminding me of how very important it is to do this every summer. We just have to make time.

  3. Sherry says:

    for sure gotta try these..

  4. 10 pounds? That’s a lot of pickles!

  5. I have to make pickles again this year.. my son loves them so much. Here you are with two new recipes to try:)

  6. Pingback: Some Spicy Dills | What's On the Stove?

  7. Pingback: In Our Kitchen | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  8. Pingback: In Our Kitchen: Pickling, Garlic and Eggs | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  9. anita rees says:

    this may be a silly question but what makes the first recipe sweet? is sugar or some other ingredient missing?

Leave a Reply

