The End of Spring

Nice chroma in there

Nice chroma in there

This weekend I pulled the favas, carrots and spinach plants and planted the okra. The fava beans were a big failure this year with no bean pods setting at all. As far as I can tell this was due to the temperature going above 75 degrees when the plants flowered. Since this has been the mildest and longest spring I can recall , I do not think fava beans are a sustainable crop for this area. I may try them one more time as a late fall harvest.

Speaking of strange weather the amount of rain has really hurt the garlic as well. The stalks have all bent and probably will not set scapes. The good news is the bulbs are fine and unless mold begins forming I will leave the plants in until they brown like normal.

It looks as if a dog slept in them but, for once, he is not the culprit

It looks as if a dog slept in them but, for once, he is not the culprit

I have had a first harvest of eggplant, tomatoes and hot peppers, and the cooler weather has allowed a lot more fruit to set than normal so here is looking forward to good harvests all around.

Looking good

Looking good

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden, How to, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The End of Spring

  1. Ruth says:

    Not sure why I am clicking LIKE if your Fava beans were a failure but I like your photo of the earth and the plant in it.

  2. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  3. If you planted hardnecks, they’ll have scapes no matter which way they’re pointing…keep watching, but I suspect you’ve got softneck this year.
    Totally jealous of the eggplant! We’re so far behind this year!

  4. A_Boleyn says:

    A shame that your favas didn’t make it but I guess these things happen in gardening. I just saw a big pile of garlic scapes on sale for $1.99 a pound at the city market. I’ve tried them in the past but can’t say they did much for me. Good luck on your next crop.

  5. Debbie Spivey says:

    Sorry about your fava beans. Maybe next year! 🙂

  6. Michelle says:

    I’m always complaining that nobody seems to grow favas here. Maybe that’s why. Bring on the okra!

Leave a Reply

