Poirot’s Secret

I detect a bottle somewhere

I detect a bottle somewhere

We have always enjoyed stories of Agatha Cristie’s famous Belgian detective and this is one of the two drinks he would always enjoy neat. I always thought creme de menthe was fairly sweet and nasty, something to be added to drinks, so how could a paragon of culture like it so much? Lately the mint has exploded and the prices of limes have also exploded. My normal daily infusion of mojito has greatly declined. What to do with all that mint is a problem I enjoy. Why not try making creme de menthe myself?

There is no substitute for homemade. This stuff is fantastic, and really strong. I checked out a few recipes and mine is far superior. No food coloring is required for mine and it is the color of Ireland. It does require a lot of really big fresh mint leaves.

Everyone should have a mint plant.

I have three.

Creme De Menthe

  • 750 ml grain alcohol (must be at least 190 proof)
  • 2 cups large mint leaves (about 30)
  • 1 liter water
  • 5 cups sugar

Pick one cup mint leaves and crush by hand roughly. Tear into small pieces and place in a glass container that can hold a liter of liquid. Add alcohol and cork. Let sit in a dark place at room temperature for 24 hours. Do not let it sit for any longer. Strain liquid into a large container discarding all mint leaves. Pick one cup fresh mint leaves. Crush by hand and place in a sauce pot with water and sugar. Bring to a boil and remove from heat once all sugar has dissolved. Let steep while coming to room temperature, about an hour. Strain syrup into liquor, discard all solids and stir well. Store in sealed glass bottles. Will keep for months.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Poirot’s Secret

  1. What a great idea – like you, have never thought to give this a go…time to change that!

  2. That. Is. Awesome! Might be just the use for that bottle of vodka someone gave us as a gift…we’re not big on cocktails 🙂

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    Mint is also a great deterrent of squirrels, but to be honest, I’d rather have it in your gorgeous drink!

  4. I gotta try this out. How fun, but maybe I should wait til my mint plant gets a little bigger, as it is now, if I pick 30 leaves off of it, I’ll leave it naked.

  5. I’m totally doing this! I have a lot of peppermint and I think I’ll work out beautifully!

  6. homemade creme de menthe! Wow – you guys are outdoing yourselves again 🙂

  7. nrhatch says:

    That’s like a mint julep on steroids! 😎

  8. Oooooh, pinning this!

  9. Pingback: In Our Kitchen | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  10. Pingback: Iced Espresso | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  11. Pingback: Getting the Garden Ready for Winter | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  12. Pingback: Rufus Turns Four | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  13. Pingback: The Irish Flag | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

