The End of the Arugula

A new attempt

A new attempt

The arugula has been trying to flower for half the month and the weather is about to change for the hotter so it was time to pull the arugula and put in something new. This year I am trying butternut squash. Hopefully the same bug that wipes out the summer squash every year will leave this alone. Time will tell. With the arugula out it meant time to make a load of pesto to freeze for the rest of the year.

Just turn into tasty little beans

Just turn into tasty little beans

The fava plants are flowering like crazy but they still have not set any seed pods. Hopefully that will happen this week and the garlic scapes will pop up. It also seems like the tomatoes need a little more pruning this year, but hopefully the cooler weather and normal rainfall will encourage a heavy first batch of fruit to set.

Healing well

Healing well

The heavy pruning seems to have saved at least half of the rosemary and the new plant seems to be taking hold. Rosemary is a hearty fighter but nothing like mint….

It's a jungle in there

It’s a jungle in there

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden, How to and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The End of the Arugula

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    There’s a lot of life in your garden. The unseasonable weather killed off my herbs … the only plants that I had in my back yard planter. Only the weeds are flourishing.

  2. renxkyoko says:

    We have lots of mint plants in our garden. They’re hardy, but a bit invasive.

  3. The long winter took my rosemary and several thymes, but the lemon balm looks better than ever – go figure. I lost many of those back in Oklahoma…
    Looks like we’ll get tomatoes in the ground later this week! The nights are finally above 50…Fingers crossed for your squash 🙂

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    Oh that rosemary is gorgeous! Several years ago we rented a lovely cottage in Burton on the Water in the UK and they had a similarly beautiful rosemary bush…I just had to make rosemary focaccia, it was so good. I love the peppery flavour of arugula so a pesto sounds like the perfect way to use up the last of the leaves. I hope your butternut squash does well.

  5. You’ll definitely have lots of pesto! And I love using arugula for that, spread on some bread mmm.

  6. This year my arugula has flowered earlier than I remember…or maybe I planted it later than usual due to our crazy weather! I finally gave up trying to eat it fast enough and just put the flowering arugula in vases around the house! Sweet little squash plants.

  7. Your garden is awesome!! Keep the pictures coming. I’m having a tough time with mine this year, learning as I go..

Leave a Reply

