Cornmeal and Cranberry Scones

This is a hearty bread

This is a hearty bread

Hey remember that leftover cranberry pulp a bit back? Here is a use for some of it.

Cranberry Cornmeal Scones

  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached flour
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 4 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 4 tbsp cranberry pulp (sauce or jam can be used too)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk

Heat oven to 425. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl. Cut butter into flour until it resembles coarse crumbs. Add cranberry pulp and enough buttermilk to form a rough dough. Quickly knead dough until it forms a smooth ball, about 1 minute. If too sticky add more flour, to dry more buttermilk. Press into a seven-inch disk and place on a greased baking sheet. Cut into eight pieces but do not separate. Bake until done in the center and brown on top, about 20 minutes. Serve drizzled with honey or sorghum.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cornmeal and Cranberry Scones

  1. I love everything about this. Wish there was a LOVE button. An amazing texture and a perfect fruit and flavor to deliver with it. I’d love it without the honey or sorghum, as well.

  2. Such an original recipe! My husband will absolutely love this: cornmeal, scones and cranberries. I can’t pass this up to surprise him.

  3. Cecile says:

    I never saw a recipe quite like this!! I looking forward to making it! (I’ve been away for a month… boy… do I have tons of posts to catch up on!!)

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    What a beautiful way to bake a scone, love the presentation. I can sure see this on a buffet table for sure.

  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

    I love scones!

  6. I love any excuse to make scones!

  7. I am just crazy about this idea. Anything with Cornmeal catches my absolute attention.

Leave a Reply

