Baked Chicken with Preserved Lemons

No cleanup

No cleanup

Here is a simple, quick way to jazz up baked chicken and potatoes. It is also pretty healthy if you remove the skin from the chicken. With no kitchen sink or counters I used that fine disposable baking dish and tin foil to prepare and cook the whole thing. You can use a bowl and a real baking dish.

Baked Chicken with Preserved Lemon

  • 4 chicken thighs skin removed and fat trimmed
  • 2 lbs potatoes cubed
  • 10-12 pearl onions
  • 4-6 cloves garlic
  • 4 preserved lemons quarters
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp dried sage
  • 1 tbsp dried rosemary
  • Hot pepper flakes
  • Salt/pepper

Rub chicken with some olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Remove the peel of lemons and slice into thin strips. Take the pulp and rub it over the chicken pieces. Toss the potatoes, onions, lemon peel and garlic with some olive oil, rosemary, sage and paprika. Spread the vegetables on the bottom of a baking dish. Place the chicken on top and cover with tin foil or a lid. Bake at 365 degrees for 25 minutes then remove cover and continue baking until chicken is done and potatoes are browned and soft, about 15 more minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Baked Chicken with Preserved Lemons

  1. Kristy says:

    I’m so impressed you’re cooking through your renovation, and cooking good stuff too!

  2. laurasmess says:

    Looks absolutely delicious Greg. Love one-dish roasts, less washing up and twice the deliciousness!

  3. Rachel says:

    This looks great (but I’d have to leave the skin on I think… I’m bad that way 😉 Mmmmmm!!

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m with Kristy, cooking through a Reno is daunting enough but having such sophisticated flavours must be enormously satisfying. My friend Barb have us preserved lemons for Xmas and I’ve been searching for something to do with them, this is perfect!

  5. TasteFood says:

    I must use preserved lemons more often. They are great with chicken.

  6. This looks like my kind of dinner, Greg. I love one dish meals! 🙂

  7. Karen says:

    You are doing a great job of cooking through your renovation. I still have some preserved lemons and this sounds like a nice recipe for using some of them.

  8. Is it this one? 🙂 Way to be stylin’ with that tinfoil madness! See…I think it can be done.

Leave a Reply

