Simple Ginger Ale

Add a liquor of choice and it is easily adult

Add a liquor of choice and it is easily adult

Homemade ginger ale is the perfect nonalcoholic drink to serve at Thanksgiving. The base for this drink can be made a day or so ahead of time. Add the seltzer water just before serving.

Ginger Ale

  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup ginger
  • brown sugar
  • roughly 3 cups  seltzer water
  • juice from half a lemon

Peel ginger, reserving peels. Chop into large cubes. Remove strips of peel from lemon. Place ginger and lemon peel into pot with water and bring to a boil. Turn heat down low and simmer for 45 minutes. Turn off heat and let steep for 20 minutes. Strain liquid and discard solids. Measure out an equal amount of sugar to ginger water. Bring to a boil add sugar and dissolve. Remove from heat and let cool. Add seltzer water to taste to ginger simple syrup.

Just because this drink starts nonalcoholic, doesn’t mean it has to end up that way. It’s a great base for a Moscow Mule or a Dark and Stormy. Or for these party punches:

Cranberry Almond Fizz

We only have one fall placemat

We only have one fall placemat

Cider Punch

It's harvest time!

It’s harvest time!

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Simple Ginger Ale

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Love a Dark and Stormy.

  2. For years I have wondered whether ginger ale really uses ginger..and it does..btw what is seltzer water..can I substitute with soda water?

  3. Ruth says:

    Love all things ginger. Love your blog, too. And the photo of the ginger ale today is especially Thanksgivingy.

  4. I love anything with ginger and homemade ginger ale is one of my favorite things. My version doesn’t have lemon so I will try that next time I make it.

  5. This is something I have wanted to try for a while now so thanks for the recipe which is much better than many I have found. I will make this weekend and let you know how it comes out. The Cranberry Fizz is the perfect thing to take to a potluck dinner I am going to.

  6. Cecile says:

    Oh yeah – I like the way you think! Just when I was wondering what sort of alcohol I might want to put into the ginger ale – I read your suggestions! With all that ginger, the ginger ale has to be really,really good for you.

  7. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  8. Pingback: Cool Thanksgiving Drinks | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  9. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  10. Pingback: Favorite Fall Sips | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  11. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

