Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes with Dry Aged Prosciutto

You’ll have to get your own

Buttermilk gives these a nice tang and the prosciutto lends a deep flavor and crunch.

Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes with Prosciutto

  • 3 pounds red potatoes
  • 4 ounces dry aged prosciutto, diced into small cubes
  • 2-3 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh sage
  • salt/pepper

Boil potatoes with skins on until tender. Set aside, but leave in the hot water until ready to mash. In a frying pan, melt butter over medium-high heat and add meat. Cook until crisp, about seven minutes. Add 1/2 cup of buttermilk and scrape up any bits. Remove from heat. Place potatoes in a large bowl. Pour over buttermilk mix and mash. Add sage and adjust seasoning, remember the meat is salty, and add an additional quarter cup buttermilk if too dry for your liking.

For more mashed potato recipes check out last year’s roundup, which includes a classic version, plus one with brown butter and sage, truffle oil and porcini mushrooms, gruyere and some ideas on how to use up leftovers.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes with Dry Aged Prosciutto

  1. sallybr says:

    Red potatoes, buttermilk and prosciutto! Awesome combo…. I haven’t made mashed potatoes in years, I am pinning this on my cooking board…

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    I love potatoes in almost every way it’s possible to make them but mashed potatoes are still my favourite and the flavours in this dish sound like they’d sing in my mouth. πŸ™‚

  3. My mouth started watering the minute I read the title.. πŸ™‚

  4. This is going to my prosciutto loving sister right awaaaay.

  5. Nice idea incorporating dry aged prosciutto! I’ll have to try this on my nieces.

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    A lovely rustic combo, and very pretty to boot!

  7. Caroline says:

    Ahhhh yes, love that you added prosciutto here. My kind of potatoes!

  8. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  9. Pingback: Slow-Cooked Mashed Potatoes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  10. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  11. Pingback: Thanksgiving Menu | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  12. Pingback: Salisbury Steak | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

