Stewed Rabbit

Looks like Daffy finally won

Looks like Daffy finally won

This was our first try with rabbit and it turned out very tasty. Since it was a success we plan on cooking it a few different ways to see if we enjoy it. If so then maybe raising rabbits ourselves will be something to look into because buying them is not exactly cheap. Time will tell.

This dish is good over pasta, rice or polenta. Heck it would be good over a bowl of grits as well.

Hunter Style Rabbit

  • 1 rabbit (3-4 pounds)
  • 1 large carrot diced fine
  • 1 rib celery diced fine
  • 1 small onion diced fine
  • 6 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 tbsp fresh rosemary chopped fine
  • 1 cup dry red wine
  • 1 28 oz can whole tomatoes
  • Chicken stock
  • Salt/pepper

Butcher rabbit into large pieces and season with salt and pepper. In a large stock pot heat 2 tbsp olive oil over medium high heat to almost smoking. Brown rabbit on both sides. Remove to a plate and add onion to pan. Brown over medium heat until golden scraping up any loose bits. Add carrot and celery and saute until soft. Add garlic and cook 2 minutes more. Add rabbit and rosemary back to pan and stir well. Add wine, deglaze pan and cook on high until half the liquid is absorbed. Crush tomatoes by hand and add to pot. Add enough chicken stock to cover rabbit by 1″. Season with salt and pepper. Turn heat to medium low and partially cover pot. Cook until sauce is thickened and rabbit is falling off the bone, 1 1/2-2 hours. Serve stew over grain of choice with a sprinkle of fresh parsley.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Stewed Rabbit

  1. karmami says:

    Congratulations you sure have come a long way. I am very impressed…

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    I haven’t cooked rabbit in ages. This version looks delicious.

  3. laurasmess says:

    That looks incredible Greg. I’ve never cooked rabbit, or eaten it, for that matter. That needs to change, quick smart! Love the idea of all of those gorgeous herbs and wine. Yum.

  4. I think rabbit is such good dish. We do lapin a la moutarde, which is very simple and very delicious. Very healthy too:)

  5. I had patΓ© de lapin often when I was in France. Have you ever tried a patΓ©? Makes a nice spread on French bread.

  6. I love stewed rabbit. I first tried it during my freshman year of college before a formal, and my date said I was eating the Easter Bunny. It was still tasty, though.

    • Cecile says:

      Good for you for having the courage to try something new !! Isn’t it good…. and the sauce has such a wonderful flavor from absorbing the deliciousness of the stewing rabbit !!

  7. Cecile says:

    I LOVE rabbit….. here I go again about “when we lived in Malta”…. but rabbit is extremely popular in Malta and they cooked it superbly! And we used to raise rabbit when we had a farm in Quebec. I have a photo of the only time I cooked rabbit here in the States… wish there was I way I could send it to you… Another awesome post Rufus!!

  8. Cecile says:

    Oh… they used to serve it with the head at restaurants…. so you’d know it wasn’t one of the thousands of cats that roamed Malta !!

  9. What a fabulous way to cook rabbit with rosemary and red wine!!! Looks delicious.
    Cheers,
    J

  10. Michelle says:

    I love rabbit. We used to buy it all the time from a lady at the farmers’ market. Unfortunately, now the restaurants buy it all up, and there’s none to be had.

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    Oddly enough, this is the 3rd rabbit preparation I’ve seen within an hour. I like the sound of yours, Greg, and wonder if anyone in my family tried to cook rabbit this way. Great that you choose to serve it over pasta or polenta. Normally, we braise rabbit in white wine on the stove top. I’ve modified the recipe a little, adding mushrooms, peppers, and a couple tomatoes, but nowhere near enough to make the sauce that you’ve accomplished. The photo of your rabbit is drool-worthy.

  12. Rabbits used to be such cheap meat here in Australia, but now that they’re being farmed, they’re quite expensive. Your dish looks lovely, although the one time I tried to butcher my own rabbit, it looked like an ax murderer had taken to it. Ever since then, I get the butcher to cut it up for me. πŸ™‚

  13. Wonderful. Looks great with the pasta.

  14. Fabulous, fabulous dish – but what a shame it’s so expensive for you 😦

Leave a Reply

