Sunday Suppers: A nod to Oktoberfest

We won’t be anywhere near Germany this year, so we’ll just have to enjoy our pretzels and beer and mustard from afar and eat plenty of sausage.

Sausage and Grapes

Plump little grapes

Plump little grapes

Or ….

Sausage and Apples

The last of the garlic scapes

The last of the garlic scapes

Potato Kugel

It's a big loaf of taters

It’s a big loaf of taters

Applesauce turnovers

That puffed up very nicely

That puffed up very nicely

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dinner, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday Suppers: A nod to Oktoberfest

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    That potato kugel makes my mouth water. It would be great with either of the sausages you’ve got above. Along with some brussels sprouts instead of cabbage, and a big mug of beer, I can enjoy my own Oktoberfest for one. πŸ™‚

  2. Ooh they all look like great dishes! I went to Oktoberfest about 8 years ago (I was working in Munich at the time) and I am sure I still have traces of the hangover πŸ˜‰

  3. cecilia says:

    Love the sausies, i must get busy and make mine soon! c

  4. sallybr says:

    It all sounds extremely delicious…. Phil loves this type of recipes, and I’m sure he would drink a nice beer to go with it. I would pass on the beer, but don’t tell your German friends πŸ˜‰

  5. Tammy says:

    They really are autumn foods, aren’t they?

  6. egg me on says:

    I wish you could see me nodding with excitement for these dishes.

  7. This type food and Oktoberfest beer are the only reasons I am happy to see fall. Otherwise, I’d like to stick with summer… Great line up here!

  8. Raymund says:

    This is what I miss after visiting Munich last August!

  9. Carolyn Chan says:

    I think I gained weight just looking at your pictures ! All of them looked divine !

Leave a Reply

