French Onion Soup

All that melted cheese is making me hungry

All that melted cheese is making me hungry

Really good french onion soup requires a couple of things. Use the sweetest onions possible, use the best gruyere possible and use a mixture of homemade beef and chicken stock.

French Onion Soup

  • 5 lbs sweet onions sliced paper thin
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup dry sherry
  • 5 cups beef stock
  • 7 cups chicken stock
  • 1 loaf day old baguette or ciabatta
  • Shredded gruyere
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 bunch thyme
  • 3 sprigs parsley
  • Salt/pepper

Tie thyme, parsley and bay leaves together with cooking twine. Slice bread into thick pieces, coat with olive oil and toast in an oven until golden. Melt butter in a large stock pot over low heat and caramelize onions. When onions are dark brown add 1/2 cup chicken stock and deglaze pan. Turn heat to medium and add 1/2 cup more chicken stock and stir until thick. Add another 1/2 cup stock and repeat. Add sherry and cook until thick. Add remaining stock, bunch of herbs and bring to a boil. Turn heat down to a simmer and cook until flavors meld, about 20 minutes. season with salt and pepper. In oven safe bowls or crocks place 1 piece of toasted bread. Ladle soup over and sprinkle on some cheese. Add another slice of bread and top with more cheese. Repeat with other bowls of soup. Place on a baking sheet and set under a broiler on high. Melt cheese until it browns. Serve hot with extra bread for dipping.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to French Onion Soup

  1. Ruth says:

    I love French Onion soup and your recipe sounds delicious.

  2. laurasmess says:

    Yum. French onion soup is definitely a winning dish… I’m yet to find someone who dislikes it! Love the cheesy crouton. Mmm. Delicious recipe!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Who could resist onion soup πŸ™‚

  4. sallybr says:

    Unfortunately Phil doesn’t eat onions, so this is the type of delicacy I only order at restaurants – he likes onions, but onions don’t like him… sad story

    great looking soup, Greg – it’s still too hot for soup here, but we are getting there

  5. cquek says:

    That is my favourite soup

  6. nrhatch says:

    We love onion soup! We make it with butter, onions, vegetable stock, pepper, a dash of Worcestershire sauce . . . and lots of C~H~E~E~S~E melted on the crouton! :mrgreen:

  7. Looks so simply good!

  8. egg me on says:

    Makes me long for a nice, chilly night. Well, maybe in like, 2 months. πŸ™‚

  9. cecilia says:

    I LOVE french onion soup.. love it.. it is the slurpiest of soups.. have a lovely sunday! c

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Great recipe, Greg. It’s still a bit early for me to start making soups but French onion is one I make every Fall. It’s the cheese.

  11. Raymund says:

    Look at that soup! that melting cheese is so tempting

  12. One of my favorite soups! I never make it, just eat it when out in restaurants, but you have opened my eyes to the ease. Love the very crusty bread you used.

  13. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Fall Soups | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.