Upside Down Chicken Florentine

All tucked in under some cheese

All tucked in under some cheese

The word Florentine in a recipe usually means something served on top of a bed of sauteed spinach. The spinach can have a number of different vegetables, cheeses and creams in it, but something gets placed on top.

Well that is just a little to dull for me.

Chicken Florentine

  • 2 chicken breasts deboned, butterflied in half and pounded out to 1/4″
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 egg beaten with 1/8 cup white wine
  • 1 cup bread crumbs mixed with salt, pepper and 2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano
  • 4 cups fresh spinach roughly chopped
  • 2 cups mushrooms sliced very thin
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1/2 lb fresh mozzarella sliced thin

Heat olive oil in a large saute pan. Dredge chicken in flour then egg wash then bread crumbs and fry over medium heat until golden brown. Place chicken in a greased baking dish. Wipe out pan and melt butter. Add mushrooms and saute until browned. Add garlic and cook 1 minute then add wine. Bring to a boil and reduce by half, deglazing pan in the process. Add spinach and cook until wilted. It may have to be added in batches to fit. Pile spinach mixture over chicken and top with cheese. Bake at 365 degrees until cheese is melted, about 15 minutes. Serve hot.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Upside Down Chicken Florentine

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Simple chicken dish but elegant as well.

  2. That’s looking delicious. I’m very into home made bread crumbs at the moment and I can see how well they must work with this.

  3. Delicious.
    🙂 Mandy

  4. Raymund says:

    Another great creation, Yum!

  5. sallybr says:

    you are turning my world upside down, and I love it! 😉

    Great twist, I will keep this one in mind for sure, in fact I’ll just pin you… ooops, no, pin your recipe

  6. egg me on says:

    Upside down looks pretty right to me. Good one!

  7. Kristy says:

    I love your version. Anything with mushrooms, wine and cheese tends to work for me. 🙂

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    This is the way to dress up a chicken breast!

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    What a lovely dish, and I’m with Kristy. I thought I had commented from my iPhone while I was up north, but I guess it didn’t stick.

  10. It looks delicious!

  11. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Spring Chicken Part Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

