Squash with Green Tomatoes and Red Bell Pepper

What a strange composition

What a strange composition

Every time a thunderstorm rolls through I like to check the garden after and collect any fruit or vegetables that may have been knocked lose or damaged. I find a lot of green tomatoes this way, but don’t let them ever go to waste. Make sure to cut away any bruises.

Squash Tossed with Green Tomatoes and Red Bell Pepper

  • 2 large green tomatoes diced medium
  • 1 red bell pepper chopped small
  • 2 yellow squash cut into 1/4″ slices
  • 1 cup thinly sliced onion
  • 4 leaves basil sliced into ribbons
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

In a large frying pan heat  over medium heat and saute onion until translucent. Add red bell pepper and tomatoes and cook until they soften. Add wine and basil and turn heat to high. Add squash and saute until tender. Squash should still be firm but cooked through. Do not overcook it to mush. Season with salt and pepper.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Squash with Green Tomatoes and Red Bell Pepper

  1. Excellent plan for using up fallen fruit…

  2. Kristy says:

    There’s been no shortage of thunderstorms here this week! Too bad I don’t have tomatoes growing. Perhaps one of these days. 🙂

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    We just hot back from a little r&r down in Michigan, Wisconsin and Illinois! Had a great time meeting someone bloggers, will tell you about it on Monday.
    You can’t buy green tomatoes on these parts, would be very interested I how they taste.

  4. Cecile says:

    A great combination of flavors and veggies !

  5. Lea Ann says:

    I’m with Eva. We can’t buy green tomatoes in Denver. So I use green tomatoes still on the plants right before it’s getting ready to freeze. Thanks for this recipe.

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    My nemesis, The Squirrel, discovered my tomatoes last night/this morning. He’d been happy pillaging my neighbor’s tomatoes until now. Either I pick my tomatoes when pink to ripen on a window sill — and then I might as well buy them from a grocery — or go green. Recipes like this one will surely come in handy. Thanks, Greg.

  7. Ooh, what a great squash dish!

Leave a Reply

