What’s so Bad About Chopped Liver?

Finally another use for the bundt pan

Finally another use for the bundt pan

Chicken livers are not everyone’s cup of tea, especially Katherine’s. Unless they are in pate or gravy that is. So when I find a recipe that uses them well, and that she enjoys then it has to be good.

This sauce is rich and buttery and pairs perfectly with the polenta. The whole dish is fairly quick to make and can easily work as a starter for a large group. Or cook up some fried eggs and have yourself one rich breakfast.

Chicken Livers with Polenta

  • 1 batch polenta
  • 1/2 lb chicken livers chopped small
  • 1/2 cup onion chopped fine
  • 1 cup sliced shitake mushrooms
  • 3 slices of bacon diced
  • 1 Anaheim pepper chopped fine
  • 8 sage leaves chopped roughly
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • Salt/pepper

Make polenta and pour into a bundt pan. Let set for 10 minutes then invert polenta onto a plate. In a large frying pan cook bacon over medium heat until browned and fat is rendered. Add onion and cook until golden. Add pepper and cook until fragrant then add mushrooms. Saute until browned then add chicken livers and brown. Add chicken stock and sage, deglaze pan and then simmer until sauce thickens, about 15 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Pour into center of polenta and serve with extra sauce.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Chicken, Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to What’s so Bad About Chopped Liver?

  1. Kristy says:

    I love how you used the bundt!

  2. Cecile says:

    As people used to frequently say, “Well, I never!”…. And I’ve never seen a recipe like this one – and I like it!! I love chicken livers – and I love polenta, but I never would’ve thought to combine them. That being said, I don’t know anyone else who would like this… so I’ll just make it for myself !!

  3. A great use for the bundt pan. I tend to lean on the same side as Katherine in my likes for chicken livers but the way you have presented and served it , might make me change my mind.

  4. Nice idea with the polenta.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    I love chicken livers, that’s a great idea 😉

  6. laurasmess says:

    Can i just answer the title of this post with “everything”!? Yep, I’m stubborn. I admit that your photo looks good but… my brain says no 😉

  7. A_Boleyn says:

    As a chicken liver lover (I bought 2 pounds the last time I brought some home and ate it all myself) this dish is right up my alley especially with a base creamy polenta … the softer the better for me though. 🙂

  8. i love chicken liver but never cooked with it before. this might be the one! love the bundt presentation.

  9. Karen says:

    You are so clever using your bundt pan for this dish…I love it.

  10. egg me on says:

    Great presentation!

Leave a Reply

