First Tomato Harvest

So juicy

So juicy

The tomato plants have finally started turning out enough ripe fruit for actual dishes instead of just enough to eat before returning inside the house.

The heirloom and beefsteak plants are now tall enough that I have begun to top them as well as prune the shoots. I like to wait until they are about 4 1/2′ in height before doing this. Topping just means to pluck every shoot from the very end of the vines. This forces more energy to setting fruit and keeps the lower vines healthier. The romas are taking their time and I may not even need to top them for the season.

Keep an eye out for some new tomato dishes in the weeks to come. Of course to start I went with caprese salad and homemade pizza.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden, Italian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to First Tomato Harvest

  1. karmami says:

    very nice healthy looking tomatoes…

  2. Lucky, lucky you – we’re still waiting here!

  3. Raymund says:

    Looks so plump and juicy

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    I know that the heat in your area can be just about unbearable, at times, but you sure do get some nice tomatoes early in the year.

  5. Misky says:

    Wow, that’s early!

  6. Totes jealous. They look yummy! πŸ˜€

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent – I hope you get a good harvest through the summer πŸ™‚

  8. Lea Ann says:

    Look at those beautiful tomatoes. With our later growing season in Colorado, I’ve got 8 plants and just one tiny green tomato. But lots of blooms. My tradition with my first tomato is a BLT Sandwich.

  9. billpeeler says:

    There’s nothing better than fresh tomatoes, straight from the garden.

  10. Kristy says:

    Tomatoes just scream caprese salad to me. I can’t tell you how many of those I’ve made this summer. Yum!

  11. So envious. You won’t believe it, Greg, but this year I have planted tomatoes for the first time. Only 4 plants in 2 terracotta troughs, but I shall keep you in the loop πŸ™‚

  12. nrhatch says:

    Gorgeous shot . . . love the “wooden mold” you have them sitting in. What was it before it became a repository for your tomatoes?

  13. Our tomatoes have not even started forming yet as far as I can tell. Which makes me very jealous of your harvest. Our lettuce just ended but my herbs are going crazy. Looking forward to those recipes.

  14. I’m red with envy!

  15. These tomatoes look perfect! Good job!

  16. I’ve only had a single, solitary tomato so far from my 4 plants, but then again, they are heirlooms and got planted late. I’ve got lots more coming on. Now if it would only stop raining for a couple of days…

Leave a Reply

