Toss Around the Pasta

Long and twisty

Long and twisty

This dish was an excuse to eat some of the fusilli pasta I stumbled on recently. For those of you who can find it easily, well a gold star for you. For everyone else this is one of those pasta shapes that is really hard to find. Which is too bad because the long twisted noodles really work great at capturing sauces and bits of ingredients when you eat them.

I also had a little arugula left from the garden and some dry-aged salami that just needed to be eaten.

Fusilli with Salami and Arugula

  • 1 lb fussili pasta or other long noodle
  • 1/4 lb dry salami chopped into small bites
  • 2 cups fresh arugula washed and roughly chopped
  • 6-8 leaves basil sliced into thin ribbons
  • 3 garlic cloves minced
  • 1/2 lb frozen peas
  • Olive oil
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • Salt/pepper
  • grated Romano

Cook pasta in boiling salted water to al dente. Drain, reserving 1/2 cup cooking water. In a large frying pan heat a tablespoon olive oil and saute garlic until it is fragrant over medium heat. Add salami and cook until the edges begin to brown. Add arugula, frozen peas and wine and cook until wine evaporates and peas are done but not mushy. Add pasta and basil to pan and toss well. If mixture is too dry add some pasta water. Mix everything together and remove from heat. Season with salt, pepper and olive oil and serve with grated Romano.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Pork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Toss Around the Pasta

  1. I never find that kind of pasta either

  2. haha, for once this is something I can find in one shop here – and most people ask me, when they see it in my basket “what do you do with this?”

  3. laurasmess says:

    Fusilli is such a cool pasta. I can fortunately buy it just down the road from me, at an Italian supermarket. I never realised that it was so difficult to find! Love the idea of this gorgeous dish. Perfect flavour combinations with the cheese, salami and greens. Yum! I’m going to try this one.

  4. Quick, easy, and yummy – who could ask for more?

  5. chef mimi says:

    No gold star for me. I have to order all my fun pastas online! This is a fabulous recipe!

  6. egg me on says:

    I could toss back a few plates of this. Looks great, man.

  7. TasteFood says:

    A good pasta should always be tossed around a bit.

  8. MMM This looks divine!

  9. Sherry says:

    you can do just about anything with some pasta and some olive oil and some parmesan can’t ya. This looks great.

  10. Caroline says:

    Love fussili! This pasta sounds awesome. I love when dishes come together so well with ingredients already on hand.

  11. I love fusili. It’s a fav!

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    Fusili is such a great pasta, Greg, and this dish is perfect for Summer. Quick and easy is the way to go as the temps climb.

  13. Kristy says:

    Right up my alley!!!

Leave a Reply

