Olive Oil and Grape Cakes

I spy a rooster

I spy a rooster

This is a great way to use up grapes you forgot about in the back of the refrigerator. Not that we’re speaking from experience.

Olive Oil and Grape Cakes

  • 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup dry polenta
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • about a half cup of seedless red grapes

Preheat to 350. Butter two-three 12 -ounce dishes or a bread loaf pan. In a large bowl, combine flour, polenta, sugar, baking powder, and salt, stir to blend. Create a well in the center and pour in the egg, oil and milk. Gently fold liquids into flour mixture until just blended. Scrape batter into pans; spread evenly. Dot the top with grapes, pushing them in until they’re even with or just slightly above the batter. Bake cake until tester inserted into center comes out clean and cake pulls away from sides of pan, about 25-30 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Olive Oil and Grape Cakes

  1. sallybr says:

    great recipe, Greg! love it love it love it!

  2. Nice idea….I always buy too many grapes and this is a perfect way to use them up,

  3. Lovely. I recently made olive oil chiffon cake (cupcakes).
    🙂 Mandy

  4. Raymund says:

    I always have seen this on the TV now you make me want to make it as well. Interesting flavours

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    Baked grapes? A very creative recipe.

  6. You know I have been planning to try out a cake using olive oil and polenta as well, but have not gotten around to it. I really like your recipe and may use it as a jumping off place to come up with my own version. Your cake looks very yummy indeed.

  7. TasteFood says:

    These are adorable – and a favorite classic cake.

  8. Gorgeous – I love cake batters made with olive oil and these individual ones are fabulous 🙂

Leave a Reply

