A Pilaf of a Different Grain

Don't eat the bay leaf

Don’t eat the bay leaf

Millet is one of those really good for you type foods that not many people seem to know about. It works perfectly as a stuffing for meat and vegetables and is equally good as a pilaf much like bulgur. Here is a simple pilaf that turns out creamy and full of flavor.

Millet Pilaf

  • 1 cup millet
  • 2/3 cup tomato juice
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • water
  • 1/2 cup minced red onion
  • Bay leaf
  • Salt/pepper
  • 2 tbsp butter

In a large measuring cup add the tomato juice and chicken stock. Add enough water to reach 2 1/2 cups total liquid. Pour millet into a strainer and rinse under cold water for a few minutes. In a three-quart pot heat butter over medium heat. Saute onion over medium low until almost caramelized, about 15 minutes. Add millet and turn heat to high. Heat millet until it is almost dried then add liquid, bay leaf and season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil then turn heat to a low simmer and cover. Cook stirring every once in a while until done, about 30-45 minutes. Uncover and place a towel over the top of the pot. Replace cover, remove pan from heat and let stand for 15 minutes. Fluff pilaf with a fork and discard bay leaf.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Pilaf of a Different Grain

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    I love the texture of millet.

  2. rutheh says:

    Never made millet but yours looks good.

  3. I have never cooked with it. I always love your dry humor, “Dont eat the bay leaf” I wonder if millet is gluten based?

  4. Wow I have never eaten Millet that I know of. Thank you for something truly new to try.m

  5. sallybr says:

    Never met a grain I didn’t like, and pilaf type dishes are perfect with so many of them…

    beautiful color…

  6. Young Wifey says:

    I remember my mom making millet when we were kids. I had friends tell us that our family ate bird seeds. It was true after all, millet was also in our birdseed mix. Your millet pilaf looks great!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    i’ve never had it, but it looks quite good!

  8. Oooh, that’s interesting, I’ve never tried using millet before! Thanks for the tip! x

  9. Purely.. Kay says:

    Okay you definitely taught me something new today. I didn’t know what a millet was before today. No joking. But this looks good.

  10. Caroline says:

    I’ve never made millet, but it sure sounds delicious!

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    The only experience I’ve had with millet is to give to my birds as a treat. Hardly the same thing. Lucy will be soo jealous when she sees me eating this! 🙂

  12. Still haven’t tried millet. I’ll have to look into it.

  13. Carolyn Chan says:

    Have never tried millet and keep seeing it being used. I have to try this.

  14. Pingback: Millet Pilaf | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

