Sambuca-fired Sausages and Apples

The last of the garlic scapes

The last of the garlic scapes

This is a quick weekday meal that goes well with wild rice or baked potatoes. If you do not like the anise flavor of Sambuca (shame on you!) then substitute Grand Marnier or plain cognac. The garlic scapes are a big part of this so do not try using green onions instead.

Roasted Apples with Sausages and Garlic Scapes

  • 3 slices bacon sliced into thin ribbons
  • 4 sweet sausages
  • 6 fuji apples quartered, cored and chopped into bites
  • 1 cup garlic scapes chopped roughly
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 2 tbsp Sambuca
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary
  • Salt/pepper

Over low heat, fry bacon until fat is rendered and it begins to brown. Add sausages to fat and brown on all sides. Add apples to pan and over medium heat saute to golden. Add rosemary and wine, deglaze pan then reduce liquid by half. Place pan in an oven at 365 degrees and roast until sausage is cooked, about 20 minutes. Place pan back on stove top and over high heat evaporate any remaining liquid. Add liquor and ignite. When flames go out, add scapes and season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Pork, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sambuca-fired Sausages and Apples

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    2 liquors and 2 kinds of pork. That’s my kind of party.

  2. Holy cow that sounds good!
    Scapes started coming off yesterday πŸ™‚

  3. Those sausages look mah-velous!

  4. That looks incredible! Thanks for the tip about the Sambuca substitute…shamefully, I confess that I do not like anise flavors!

  5. egg me on says:

    Awesome! But shame on me because I don’t like anise, but I do like sausages and apples and bacon. Maybe I’ll give it a try.

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    The anise would go very well indeed with the spicy sausages. A tasty meal indeed.

  7. Raymund says:

    Nice combination of flavours

  8. Karen says:

    Sausage, apples and bacon…nice!

  9. sarahwoodruffphotography says:

    Reblogged this on HUNGRY MOMMY.

  10. Kristy says:

    Great summer dish! My extended family would love this.

  11. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A nod to Oktoberfest | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  12. Cecile Roy says:

    I’m not a big Sambuca fan… not since I drank too much of it once in my youth. But I’d love to add some Grand Marnier or even beer…. or apple cider!!
    And, what are “garlic scapes”. I’ve never heard of them. Is that the green part that grows out of the garlic bulb when they’re in the ground? (Which reminds me…. we used to plant garlic in the fall when we had our farm in Quebec & I want to do the same here in Mass.)

  13. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Apples Galore | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

