It’s Never too Hot for Soup

Ham bones are your best friend

Ham bones are your best friend

This is normally a better choice for cooler weather, but I just had a hankering for bean soup. We also are trying to not go to the grocery store this week by eating through the pantry.

Mixed Bean Soup

  • 1 1/2 cups black eyed peas
  • 2 cups navy beans
  • 1 ham hock
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 4 carrots chopped into fine dice
  • 1 onion diced small
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 3 tbsp fresh rosemary
  • Salt/pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Soak navy beans overnight in cold water with ham hock. Bring to a boil and then simmer until almost tender, about 45 minutes. In a large stock pot heat olive oil over medium heat. Saute onion until it turns golden, about 10 minutes. Add carrots and cook until browned then add garlic and cook another minute. Add black eyed peas and rosemary and stir to coat in vegetables. Season with salt and pepper and add white wine. Cook on high until almost all wine is absorbed, then add stock and water. Bring to a boil then turn down to a simmer and add navy beans with cooking liquid and ham bone. Cook until beans are done and soup is reduced by about half, about 45 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and remove ham hock. Cut meat from bone and dice. Add back to soup and serve with plenty of hot sauce.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Italian, Pork, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to It’s Never too Hot for Soup

  1. Bean soup sounds delicious. I have the aircon on and just made a big pot of turkey and wild rice soup. It is never too hot for soup!

  2. I’ve never had soup with black eyed peas inside but I’d like to.

  3. That is a soup recipe that I’m filing away for next winter. The Vendee is a land of beans and pork, so that should be ideal.

  4. *It’s never too hot for soup, if you have an air conditioner…
    Yummy recipe!

  5. nrhatch says:

    We’re eating through OUR pantry and freezer too!

    I made a super spicy Lentil Couscous with tomatos and habaneros, a delicious pate with lentils, onions, walnuts, worchestershire, horshradish, and some Crusty Cuban Bread. šŸ˜€

  6. I totally agree:) It is never too hot for soup:).. and this one looks delicious:)

  7. This soup definitely, definitely looks like it would be good in any weather! They say sweating makes you cooler anyway… šŸ˜‰

  8. Gorgeous and very easy to get the ingredients here in Andalucia!

  9. I agree, soup is always a great thing to have around and this one sounds very flavorful!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    This sounds really good, Greg. Wish I had a bowl yesterday. We barely reached 50Ėš.

  11. Dr Dan says:

    I agree with you: it is never too hot for soup! Looks delicious!

  12. Carolyn Chan says:

    If I didn’t live by the mantra “it’s never too hot for soup” I’d never eat soup here in Singapore, and I love soup !

  13. Sounds good! You are right, is never too hot, at least for this soup šŸ˜‰

  14. Amanda says:

    Haha I’ve definitely made soup in 90 degree weather before. Sometimes you just gotta use what you have!

  15. Raymund says:

    I agree hot or not I will have my soup

Leave a Reply

