Veggie Sandwiches

No meat you say

No meat you say

The thing that really makes this sandwich pop is the dressing.

And the portabella, cheese, fresh arugula, and avocado.

Oh and fresh homemade ciabatta.

Portabella and Avocado Sandwiches

  • 1 portabella cut into 1/2″ thick slices
  • 1 avocado sliced thick
  • 12 arugula leaves
  • 4 slices mozzarella
  • 4 slices ciabatta
  • 1 tbsp sherry
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh mint
  • 1 tbsp butter

Roast garlic in an oven at 400 degrees until golden brown. In a bowl, mash garlic with oil and let sit for 30 minutes. Add balsamic and mint and whisk until blended. In a frying pan melt butter and saute mushrooms until browned on both sides. Add sherry and cook until absorbed. To assemble sandwiches place bread on a cast iron skillet. Coat the top of each slice in dressing. On two slices arrange mushrooms. Cover all slices with cheese and place in an oven a 350 degrees until cheese melts, about five minutes. Top mushroom slices with avocado slices and the remaining slices with arugula. Place arugula piece on top of mushroom piece and enjoy. This makes two sandwiches.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Veggie Sandwiches

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    What doesn’t go exceptionally well with avocado? It’s a beautiful sandwich.

  2. Sounds delicious. Mushrooms treated like that start to nearly taste like meat. I’ve googled portabella cheese to no avail – is it like mozzarella?

  3. lvaletutto says:

    This looks so delicious! And I can almost imagine what it tastes like. Great creation!

  4. Wonderful! πŸ™‚

  5. sallybr says:

    Awesome sandwich indeed! And of course, home-made ciabatta makes it shine!

  6. nrhatch says:

    Other than the bread, this sandwich doesn’t much appeal. I’ll have grilled cheese on ciabatta, please. πŸ˜€

  7. With all of those ingredients and homemade ciabatta to boot…no way that could be anything but terrific!

  8. Misky says:

    Total comfort food!

  9. Caroline says:

    Now this is my kind of sandwich! I’m sure the homemade ciabatta made it even more incredible.

  10. Perfect lunch food! One to go, please! πŸ™‚

  11. Kristy says:

    This looks so much better than the garbage I ate for lunch. We had take out at a meeting and I ordered a veggie sandwich. Let’s just say yours would have made me much happier. πŸ™‚

  12. This looks delicious!

  13. Anything on Ciabatta is good with me…but avocado and portabellos….wonderful.

  14. Purely.. Kay says:

    Do I see avocado in that sandwich? I LOVE IT. I wish I could have thi for lunch

  15. Wow! This looks delicious! I can’t wait to try it. Pinning it now…

  16. Lauren says:

    Uh, yeah. I’d say the fresh homemade ciabatta does the trick! Great looking sandwich.

  17. Carolyn Chan says:

    That is one fancy lookin’ sandwich !

  18. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Summer Soups and Sandwiches | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

