Strawberries and Booze Part 2

So yummy

So yummy

If there’s a part one, a part two should follow… Don’t confuse these with a strawberry mojito, although the leftover juice is good enough to drink. This recipe makes use of our ample supply of fresh mint. Eat these by themselves or drizzled over pound cake or baked goat cheese and honey.

Mojito Strawberries

  • 1 pint strawberries (washed, hulled and sliced thin)
  • 1 cup fresh mint
  • 2 tbsp rum
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • juice from half a lemon
  • 1 tbsp sugar (optional)

Puree mint, lemon juice, honey and rum in a blender. In a large bowl, toss puree with strawberries. Refrigerate for 1-4 hours to let flavors meld. Taste after about 30 minutes and add sugar if desired to increase sweetness.

Other great ways to eat strawberries and soak up some booze:

Mixed-berry zabaglione

Jello pudding has nothing on this

Jello pudding has nothing on this

Strawberries in Grand Marnier

Of course the strawberry season is probably a little shorter for most people.

Of course the strawberry season is probably a little shorter for most people.

Strawberries with a Sour Cream Amaretto Dip

I love strawberry season

I love strawberry season

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Strawberries and Booze Part 2

  1. What could be more tempting than strawberries and booze – good plan:)

  2. Raymund says:

    Nice! This would go well on Valentines 🙂

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    You’re really making me jealous Greg, our season doesn’t get going until mid June.

  4. spree says:

    We’ve got a hillside covered with strawberries in blossom and the starts of fruit. I can hardly wait…but it’ll be June before I can taste any boozy berries. You’ve sure whet my appetite with yours!

  5. egg me on says:

    Really loving all of the strawberry posts this week. I think we need to start calling you Strawberry Greg-cake. Or not, your call!

  6. A_Boleyn says:

    Zabaglione … one day I must make it. Strawberries macerated with Grand Marnier and some vanilla sugar is still my favourite way of enjoying them. Though lately, I’ve been dolloping some creme fraiche on top as well. SO GOOD! And now I have home made creme fraiche galore.

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    That Amaretto sour cream dip was fantastic, Greg. The other recipes must be jealous.

  8. Karen says:

    I’m seeing a lot of red…or maybe that is the booze. 🙂 I’m loving all your strawberry posts. We have a ways to go before we have a crop of strawberries in our area.

  9. Kristy says:

    Mmmmmm!!!!! Bought a bunch of strawberries today; although I doubt they will taste as good as your fresh ones. 🙂

Leave a Reply

