Garden Update

Just waiting on a tomato and salad will be served

Just waiting on a tomato and salad will be served

Spring’s final full arrival has brought the first of hopefully many harvests of arugula, carrots and spinach.

There are a few things I like to do when it comes to picking what to take and what to leave in to get bigger. For greens I remove only the best leaves from the bunches, letting the rest of the plants mature instead of pulling the entire thing. At least in the early stages this helps to extend the amount of production per plant and keeps them from flowering to quickly as well. I find that arugula and spinach keep in the refrigerator for a week after picking. When it comes to carrots the easiest way to pick the ones that need to be pulled first is by the width of the top sticking out of the ground. If the carrot is about the size of a quarter it should be ok to pull. Fresh carrots will keep for a couple weeks in the fridge as well.

The garlic has not sent up scapes yet, but I am looking forward to them and how to cook them. I have also begun pruning the tomatoes. For information on how to do that go here.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Garden Update

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    Our overnight lows are dropping into the 30’s again for the next 2 nights and you’re picking lettuce and spinach already. Good for you! Buon appetito!

  2. Great start to the season.
    🙂 Mandy

  3. Fresh produce from your own garden always so good. Very envious.

  4. Fabulous! My seedlings are about an eighth of an inch high right now, so we’re a ways away from eating from the garden! Enjoy the fruits of your labor 😀

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    Holy cow, you have vegetables already? We just started spring and it’s cold again (threats of snow flurries in cottage country!)

  6. billpeeler says:

    Feeling a little jealous, right now. Hope you reap lots more this year 🙂

  7. I am jealous! My spinach and lettuce is about 2 weeks out. I can’t wait!!

  8. Karen says:

    Look at those lovelies…my tomato and basil seedlings are still in my potting shed. I hope you have a great garden this year and hopefully not too hot.

  9. Alison says:

    Beautiful!! Enjoy!

  10. Rachel says:

    Woohoo – its a gardening sort of week! Mmmm…

  11. Carolyn Chan says:

    How wonderful for you to be able to cook with vegetables and greens freshly picked from your garden ! I’ll bet they taste amazing.

Leave a Reply

